{
    "id": "sc-beach-access-parking",
    "name": "South Carolina Beach Access, Parking and Dog Rules (22 Beaches)",
    "description": "Parking, access, entry fees, dog rules, lifeguards, restrooms and alcohol rules for 22 South Carolina beaches, read from town, county and state park pages.",
    "page": "https://itssouthcarolina.com/data/sc-beach-access-parking/",
    "csv": "https://itssouthcarolina.com/data/downloads/sc-beach-access-parking.csv",
    "json": "https://itssouthcarolina.com/data/downloads/sc-beach-access-parking.json",
    "license": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
    "attribution": "It's South Carolina (itssouthcarolina.com), CC BY 4.0",
    "citation": "It's South Carolina (2026). South Carolina Beach Access, Parking and Dog Rules (22 Beaches). https://itssouthcarolina.com/data/sc-beach-access-parking/",
    "publisher": "It's South Carolina",
    "geo_scope": "South Carolina, USA",
    "last_checked": "2026-10-26",
    "row_count": 22,
    "columns": [
        "beach",
        "town",
        "county",
        "kind",
        "parking_free",
        "access_and_parking",
        "entry_fee",
        "dogs",
        "lifeguards",
        "restrooms",
        "alcohol",
        "not_confirmed",
        "official_url",
        "source_url",
        "checked"
    ],
    "column_notes": {
        "beach": "Beach or beach park",
        "town": "Town or area",
        "county": "County",
        "kind": "town beach, county park or state park",
        "parking_free": "yes, no, or not published",
        "access_and_parking": "Access points and parking as the town, county or park publishes them",
        "entry_fee": "Entry fee (state parks charge per person)",
        "dogs": "Dog rule as published, with season and hours",
        "lifeguards": "Lifeguard service as published",
        "restrooms": "Restrooms as published",
        "alcohol": "Alcohol rule as published",
        "not_confirmed": "What we looked for and did not find",
        "official_url": "Official page for the beach",
        "source_url": "Page the row was read from",
        "checked": "Date (YYYY-MM-DD) the row was read"
    },
    "rows": [
        {
            "beach": "North Myrtle Beach (city beach, incl. Cherry Grove, Ocean Drive, Crescent Beach, Windy Hill)",
            "town": "North Myrtle Beach",
            "county": "Horry",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "not published",
            "access_and_parking": "City says it has over 50 locations for public parking for beach access and its Parks and Grounds division manages over 240 beach accesses; 41 lot-associated accesses are listed (20 north of Main Street, 21 south). Parking pay stations are run by Park North Myrtle Beach; the interactive map shows each lot and its amenities.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "\"May 15 to Labor Day: No dogs allowed on the beach 10 am to 4 pm.\" Leashes are required at all times and owners must pick up waste.",
            "lifeguards": "City Beach Patrol (Police Department) says it hires about 120 lifeguards each year. Season dates and hours are not stated on the pages read.",
            "restrooms": "Not described in text; the city map shows bathroom and handicap accessibility for each lot. Restroom maintenance line: (843) 280-5571.",
            "alcohol": "\"Alcohol, glass containers, and fireworks PROHIBITED.\"",
            "not_confirmed": "Parking fee amounts, season and hours: the pages read (nmb.us/339 and nmb.us/543) do not list them; they point to the Park North Myrtle Beach map/app.",
            "official_url": "https://www.nmb.us/339/Beach-Accesses-Amenities",
            "source_url": "https://www.nmb.us/249/Beach-Laws",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Myrtle Beach (city beach, oceanfront and Boardwalk)",
            "town": "Myrtle Beach",
            "county": "Horry",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Beach accesses and street ends citywide: $3.00 per hour or $15.00 all day. Paid parking March 1 to September 30, 9:00 a.m. to midnight, seven days. From October 1 (2026) to end of February, parking is free at city-metered spaces between Sixth Avenue South and 21st Avenue North; metered spaces north of 21st Ave N and south of Sixth Ave S stay paid year-round.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "May 1 through Labor Day: dogs and bicycles allowed on the beach only before 10:00 a.m. and after 5:00 p.m. Day after Labor Day through April 30: dogs allowed on beach and boardwalk at any time. Boardwalk May 1-Labor Day: dogs only 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. Leash of seven feet or shorter at all times; service dogs excluded.",
            "lifeguards": "Lifeguard services run through a city franchise agreement; Police Beach Patrol and, in peak season, three EMS crews also work the beach. Season dates not stated on the page read.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "\"Alcohol is NOT allowed on the beach.\" Glass containers and bottles also prohibited.",
            "not_confirmed": "Restrooms: not listed on the beach-conditions page.",
            "official_url": "https://www.cityofmyrtlebeach.com/",
            "source_url": "https://www.cityofmyrtlebeach.com/i_want_to/learn_about/beach_conditions.php",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Myrtle Beach State Park",
            "town": "Myrtle Beach",
            "county": "Horry",
            "kind": "state park",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Parking is first-come, first-served and limited; the park advises arriving outside 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. peak, especially on summer weekends and holidays. Park hours: daily 6 a.m.-10 p.m. March-Nov.; daily 6 a.m.-8 p.m. Dec.-Feb.",
            "entry_fee": "$8 adults; $5/SC seniors (age 65 & older); $4/child age 6-15; Free for children 5 and younger. Additional charges for pier fishing, camping and certain programs.",
            "dogs": "Pets are not allowed on the beaches from 10 am until 5 pm (7 days a week) May 1 through Labor Day. Pets allowed in most other outdoor areas year round on a leash no longer than six feet; not allowed in cabins or cabin areas.",
            "lifeguards": "\"Horry County lifeguards are stationed on the beach north of the pier from mid-May until mid-Sept.\" Swimming is permitted anywhere in the Atlantic at your own risk.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": "Restrooms and alcohol rule: not on the two park pages read.",
            "official_url": "https://southcarolinaparks.com/myrtle-beach",
            "source_url": "https://southcarolinaparks.com/myrtle-beach/things-to-do",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Surfside Beach (town beach)",
            "town": "Surfside Beach",
            "county": "Horry",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Town runs beach-area public lots. Paid parking March 1 through October 31, 2026, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.; free before and after those hours. Premium lots $3 per hour or $15 per day (Seaside Drive, Yaupon Lot, 3rd, 6th, 3rd South, 4th South, 5th South, 6th South Avenues, 13th South Beach Side, Melody Lane); non-premium lots $2 per hour or $10 per day; Pier Lot $4 per hour with no daily maximum.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Dogs and other domestic pets are not allowed on the public beach from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., May 1 through Labor Day. At other times leashed dogs are allowed. Reptiles, exotic animals and horses are not allowed at any time.",
            "lifeguards": "Page read gives no lifeguard hours or locations.",
            "restrooms": "Restrooms and shower towers at 3rd Avenue North, Surfside Pier, 5th Avenue South and 13th Avenue South.",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": "Alcohol rule not stated on the beaches page read (a search excerpt of town sources says alcohol is prohibited on the beach; not read on the page itself). | Lifeguard season dates.",
            "official_url": "https://www.surfsidebeach.org/",
            "source_url": "https://surfsidebeach.org/200/Beaches",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Garden City Beach (unincorporated Horry County)",
            "town": "Garden City",
            "county": "Horry",
            "kind": "county park",
            "parking_free": "yes",
            "access_and_parking": "\"Parking is free and open year-round at all oceanfront Garden City beach accesses.\" Paid lots along Magnolia Drive (off Waccamaw Drive) and the Ambrosino Parking Lot near Azalea Drive; rates not listed.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Horry County beach rule: animals are not allowed on the beach from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., May 1 through Labor Day; hand-held leash no longer than 7 feet; owners clean up.",
            "lifeguards": "Horry County page: lifeguards are required along parts of these beaches from May 15 through September 15; sections covered are not stated.",
            "restrooms": "Permanent restrooms: Seabreeze Dr and Calhoun Dr accesses. Portable: Cedar, Holly, Azalea, Yaupon, Pine, Oak, Anglers, Holiday, Sunset, Rainbow, Woodland. None listed at Magnolia Ave and Cypress Ave.",
            "alcohol": "Alcohol is prohibited on the beach and beach accesses (Horry County).",
            "not_confirmed": "Paid lot rates not published on pages read.",
            "official_url": "https://www.horrycountysc.gov/departments/parksandrecreation/beach-accesses/",
            "source_url": "https://www.horrycountysc.gov/about-our-beaches/",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Huntington Beach State Park",
            "town": "Murrells Inlet",
            "county": "Georgetown",
            "kind": "state park",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Park hours 6 a.m.-6 p.m. daily (extended to 9 p.m. during Daylight Saving Time). Limited parking: temporary weekend and holiday closures may occur; arrive outside 10 a.m.-2 p.m.",
            "entry_fee": "$8/adult; $5/S.C. Senior; $4/youth age 6-15; Free for children 5 and younger. Atalaya: $2/person ages 6 and up; children 5 and under free.",
            "dogs": "Dog-friendly year round, no season dates listed. Leash no longer than six feet at all times. Dogs may use the south end of the beach; barred from the north end (north lot beach access to the jetty). Dogs prohibited in buildings including Atalaya.",
            "lifeguards": "No lifeguards; swimming in the Atlantic at your own risk.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": "Restrooms/alcohol not on pages read.",
            "official_url": "https://southcarolinaparks.com/huntington-beach",
            "source_url": "https://southcarolinaparks.com/huntington-beach/things-to-do",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Litchfield Beach (unincorporated Georgetown County accesses)",
            "town": "Litchfield Beach",
            "county": "Georgetown",
            "kind": "county park",
            "parking_free": "not published",
            "access_and_parking": "County beach accesses open one hour before sunrise until 10 p.m. April 15-Oct 31 and until 8 p.m. Nov 1-April 14 (page lists closing times 10 pm and 8 pm). Litchfield beach access numbers are in a county PDF.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "\"Dogs must be leashed from 9 am to 7 pm. Dogs that are not leashed during other hours must be under voice control\" and owners must be able to demonstrate it to an officer. No horses on the beach March 1 to October 31.",
            "lifeguards": "Page read does not mention lifeguards.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "\"No alcoholic liquors\"; no glass containers.",
            "not_confirmed": "Parking fees, lifeguards, restrooms for Litchfield accesses.",
            "official_url": "http://www.georgetowncountysc.org/236/Beach-Information",
            "source_url": "http://www.georgetowncountysc.org/236/Beach-Information",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Pawleys Island (town beach)",
            "town": "Pawleys Island",
            "county": "Georgetown",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "yes",
            "access_and_parking": "Georgetown County lot at the south end of Springs Avenue is the island's largest free public beach access lot. Eight more public accesses: First Street, Davis Drive, Second Street, Pearce Street, Third Street, Shell Road, Hazard Street, Pritchard Street; about 141 spaces total, limited. Parking in public beach accesses not allowed 11 PM to 6 AM.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Dogs must be on a leash May 1 to Sept. 30, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Owners must pick up after pets.",
            "lifeguards": "\"No lifeguards are on duty at any time.\" Life rings at several accesses.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": "Alcohol and restroom rules: town page says call 843-237-1698; not stated on pages.",
            "official_url": "https://www.townofpawleysisland.com/",
            "source_url": "https://www.townofpawleysisland.com/beach-rules/",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Isle of Palms (city beach)",
            "town": "Isle of Palms",
            "county": "Charleston",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Paid parking enforced March 1 to October 31, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. at city lots (Municipal Lots A and B on Pavilion Drive) and on-street paid stations on Front Beach (pay by phone or kiosk). Several street areas are free (e.g. Palm Blvd 21st-40th and 42nd-53rd Avenues; 3rd-9th Avenues parts). Rates published on parkiop.org, not on city page.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Off-leash allowed April 1 to September 14, 5am to 9am; September 15 to March 31, 4pm to 10am. Otherwise leashed or under voice command; owners clean up. Dogs must be vaccinated and wear a metal license tag.",
            "lifeguards": "Beach rules page does not mention lifeguards (county park lifeguards listed separately).",
            "restrooms": "Front Beach Restrooms listed as a handicapped parking location; no other detail.",
            "alcohol": "Alcoholic beverages prohibited on the beach ($100 fine per offense); glass bottles prohibited.",
            "not_confirmed": "Parking rates (parkiop.org not read).",
            "official_url": "https://www.isleofpalms.gov/",
            "source_url": "https://www.isleofpalms.gov/beach/beach-rules",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Isle of Palms County Park",
            "town": "Isle of Palms",
            "county": "Charleston",
            "kind": "county park",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Lot has 445 spaces and usually fills to capacity by 10:30 a.m. on weekends and holidays. Rules: park in designated areas only; no overnight parking or camping. Charleston County Parks fee schedule (search excerpt of ccprc page): May-Labor Day $15 weekdays, $25 weekends and holidays; $5 Jan-Feb and Nov-Dec; $10 March and October; $15 April and September; walk-ins and bicyclists free; Gold Pass members free; RV/camper $40, buses $75.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "County rule: pets leashed, cleaned up after, under control; not left in vehicles. City of Isle of Palms rules also apply on the beach: off-leash April 1-Sept 14 5-9am; Sept 15-March 31 4pm-10am.",
            "lifeguards": "\"Lifeguards are on duty seasonally and shall be obeyed at all times.\" Search excerpt of the park page: weekends only through end of September, 10 a.m.-6 p.m., plus Labor Day.",
            "restrooms": "CCPRC beach-parks page lists restrooms among beach-park amenities (not specific to this park).",
            "alcohol": "No alcoholic beverages except in designated areas with an approved application; alcohol prohibited on the beach (city).",
            "not_confirmed": "Fee schedule and lifeguard hours come from a search-engine excerpt of ccprc.com; the park page text did not load through the fetch tool. Confirm on the page.",
            "official_url": "https://www.ccprc.com/60/Isle-of-Palms-County-Park",
            "source_url": "https://www.ccprc.com/parks/park-facility-rules/isle-of-palms-county-park-rules/",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Sullivan's Island (town beach)",
            "town": "Sullivan's Island",
            "county": "Charleston",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "not published",
            "access_and_parking": "Public beach access paths with parking only in street right-of-way, all four tires off pavement, not blocking streets or beach paths. Town page names public parking in front of Battery Thomson and behind Town Hall during non-business hours (search excerpt). Accessible paths at Station 26, 21 and 18 1/2.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Summer May 1-Sept 30: off leash 5:00-10:00 a.m.; no dogs on beach 10:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.; on leash 6:00 p.m.-5:00 a.m. Winter Oct 1-April 30: off leash 5:00 a.m.-noon; on leash noon-5:00 a.m. All dogs need a town license; loose dogs not allowed in dunes or near turtle nests.",
            "lifeguards": "\"None are on duty at any time.\" Everyone enters the ocean at their own risk.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "\"All alcoholic beverages are prohibited on all streets, boardwalks and beaches.\" Glass, plastic and polystyrene containers not allowed on the beach.",
            "not_confirmed": "Restroom availability; dog license fee.",
            "official_url": "https://sullivansisland.sc.gov/",
            "source_url": "https://sullivansisland.sc.gov/residents/beach/beach-rules-regulations",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Folly Beach (city beach)",
            "town": "Folly Beach",
            "county": "Charleston",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "not published",
            "access_and_parking": "City parking rules: all four tires off the roadway outside white lines; not in crosswalks, on sidewalks, dunes or revetments; keep 20 ft from intersections, 30 ft from stop signs, 15 ft from hydrants. Fines up to $1,092. Parking help 843-580-0423 (24 hours). Meter/lot rates not on the page read.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "\"Dogs are not allowed on the beach from 10 AM to 6 PM, May 1 to September 30.\" At other times leashed and under control; owners pick up waste; never allowed on the pier.",
            "lifeguards": "Charleston County Parks staffs lifeguards at West End County Park and on the beachfront from 2nd Street East to 3rd Street West, from May through Labor Day.",
            "restrooms": "Not on rules page; a separate \"Public Bathroom Locations\" page is linked.",
            "alcohol": "\"NO POSSESSION OR CONSUMPTION OF ALCOHOL ALLOWED ON BEACH.\" Glass, plastic, balloons, Styrofoam banned.",
            "not_confirmed": "Meter and lot rates; follybeach.com is a visitor site, not the city, so its pier facts are secondary.",
            "official_url": "https://cityoffollybeach.com/",
            "source_url": "https://cityoffollybeach.com/rules_regulations/index.php",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Folly Beach County Park (west end)",
            "town": "Folly Beach",
            "county": "Charleston",
            "kind": "county park",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Lot has 225 spaces and usually fills by 10:30 a.m. on weekends and holidays. Rules: park in designated areas only, no overnight parking or camping. CCPRC schedule (search excerpt of ccprc page): May-Labor Day $15 Monday-Friday and $25 weekends and holidays; Gold Pass members free; walk-ins and bicyclists free.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "\"Dogs are not allowed on the beach from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. from May 1st to Sept. 30th.\" At other times leashed and under control. Pets must not be left in vehicles.",
            "lifeguards": "\"Lifeguards are on duty seasonally and shall be obeyed at all times.\" Search excerpt of ccprc page: weekends only from May 9, daily Memorial Day to August 9, weekends August 15 to September 27 plus Labor Day.",
            "restrooms": "CCPRC lists restrooms among beach-park amenities.",
            "alcohol": "No alcoholic beverages except in designated areas with an approved application; city ordinance bans alcohol on the beach.",
            "not_confirmed": "Fee and lifeguard schedule come from a search excerpt of ccprc.com; park page body did not load through fetch.",
            "official_url": "https://www.ccprc.com/61/Folly-Beach-County-Park",
            "source_url": "https://www.ccprc.com/61/Folly-Beach-County-Park",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Kiawah Beachwalker Park",
            "town": "Kiawah Island",
            "county": "Charleston",
            "kind": "county park",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Lot has 150 spaces and usually fills by 10:30 a.m. in summer; staff can add visitors to a virtual line when full. CCPRC fee schedule (search excerpt of ccprc page): $15 weekdays and $25 weekends/holidays May-Labor Day; $5 Jan, Feb, Nov, Dec; $10 March and October; $15 April and September after Labor Day; walk-ins and bicyclists free; Gold Pass free; RV/camper $40; bus $75.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Park rule: pets leashed, cleaned up after, under control at all times. Town of Kiawah: March 1 to October 15 dogs must be leashed at all times; October 16 to February 28 dogs may be off-leash.",
            "lifeguards": "\"Lifeguards are on duty seasonally and shall be obeyed at all times.\" Search excerpt of ccprc page: weekends only from May 9, daily Memorial Day to August 9, weekends August 15 to Labor Day.",
            "restrooms": "CCPRC lists restrooms among beach-park amenities.",
            "alcohol": "No alcoholic beverages except in designated areas with an approved application; CCPRC says alcohol not allowed at any of the beach parks.",
            "not_confirmed": "Fees and lifeguard dates are from a search excerpt; the 'only public access' line is my reading of the CCPRC listing and not a quoted official statement.",
            "official_url": "https://www.ccprc.com/1411/Kiawah-Beachwalker-Park",
            "source_url": "https://www.ccprc.com/parks/park-facility-rules/kiawah-beachwalker-park-rules/",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Seabrook Island",
            "town": "Seabrook Island",
            "county": "Charleston",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "not published",
            "access_and_parking": "Official town beach-rules page has no public access or parking statement; it says walking on the primary frontal dune is prohibited except at designated SIPOA or private access points. No public lot found. Visitors seeking a public beach nearby: Kiawah Beachwalker Park (county).",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "By zone: Red zone no pets at any time; Yellow zone leashed; Green zone April 1-Sept 30 leashed 10:00 am-5:00 pm, Oct 1-March 31 off-leash if effectively controlled. Leash max sixteen feet.",
            "lifeguards": "Page lists Seabrook Island Beach Patrol and Barrier Island Ocean Rescue (843) 718-6083; lifeguards not named.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "No general alcohol ban stated; glass containers banned.",
            "not_confirmed": "Whether the general public may use the beach at all: not stated on the page read. Treat as no public access facility until the town confirms.",
            "official_url": "https://www.townofseabrookisland.org/",
            "source_url": "https://www.townofseabrookisland.org/beach-rules.html",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Edisto Beach (town beach)",
            "town": "Edisto Beach",
            "county": "Colleton",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "not published",
            "access_and_parking": "37 public beach accesses, one at each intersection on Palmetto Boulevard; most cross a dune, some have off-street parking and walkovers. Parking allowed 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.; no overnight parking. Beach mats at Accesses 1, 9, 20, 28. Page lists no fees.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Dogs must be on a leash May 1 through October 31; owners clean up. Page lists unleashed dogs as prohibited on those dates.",
            "lifeguards": "\"There are no lifeguards on duty.\"",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": "Alcohol rule and restrooms not on pages read; Access 3 and others may be closed by erosion (state park note).",
            "official_url": "https://www.townofedistobeach.com/",
            "source_url": "https://www.townofedistobeach.com/beach-access-and-parking",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Edisto Beach State Park",
            "town": "Edisto Island",
            "county": "Colleton",
            "kind": "state park",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Park hours 7 a.m.-6 p.m. daily (extended to 8 p.m. during Daylight Savings Time); office M-F 9am-5pm. Parking details not listed. \"Beach Access 3 is open to foot traffic only\" due to erosion.",
            "entry_fee": "$8/adult; $5 SC seniors; $4/child age 6-15; Free for children 5 and younger.",
            "dogs": "Pets not allowed in cabins or cabin areas; allowed in most other outdoor areas on a short leash/physical restraint. No dates or hours listed.",
            "lifeguards": "\"There are no lifeguards on duty\"; swimming at your own risk.",
            "restrooms": "Restrooms in the picnic area near the park kiosk.",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": null,
            "official_url": "https://southcarolinaparks.com/edisto-beach",
            "source_url": "https://southcarolinaparks.com/edisto-beach/things-to-do",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Hunting Island State Park",
            "town": "Hunting Island (near Beaufort)",
            "county": "Beaufort",
            "kind": "state park",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Park hours 6 a.m.-6 p.m. daily (extended to 9 p.m. during Daylight Saving Time). Parking not described on the page read.",
            "entry_fee": "$8/adult; $5/SC seniors; $4/child age 6-15; Free for children 5 and younger.",
            "dogs": "Pets not allowed in the cabin area, on the pier or inside the lighthouse complex. Not permitted on the tip of North Beach past posted markers (shorebird habitat). Allowed in most other outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet. No dates or hours listed.",
            "lifeguards": "\"There is no designated swimming area and no lifeguards are on duty.\" Swimming at your own risk.",
            "restrooms": "Campground sites have shower and restroom facilities; other locations not described.",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": "Parking details and alcohol rule not on pages read.",
            "official_url": "https://southcarolinaparks.com/hunting-island",
            "source_url": "https://southcarolinaparks.com/hunting-island/things-to-do",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Fripp Island",
            "town": "Fripp Island",
            "county": "Beaufort",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "not published",
            "access_and_parking": "Resort page describes Fripp as primarily a private vacation resort with a small year-round community and says beach accesses are being rebuilt, with open accesses listed at frippislandliving.com. The page read does not describe the gate or who may enter. Visitors without a stay or owner invitation should use Hunting Island State Park, next door.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Beaufort County rules as summarized by the resort: Friday before Memorial Day to Monday after Labor Day no dogs 10 a.m.-5 p.m. except service animals, leashed or voice control otherwise; Tuesday after Labor Day to Sept 30 and April 1 to Thursday before Memorial Day dogs allowed, leashed 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Oct 1-March 31 leashed or voice control anytime.",
            "lifeguards": "\"There are no lifeguards on duty.\" Call 911 in an emergency.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": "Gate and day-visitor policy not found on an official page; treat as gated/private.",
            "official_url": "https://www.frippislandresort.com/",
            "source_url": "https://www.frippislandresort.com/about-fripp-island/our-beach",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Coligny Beach Park, Hilton Head Island",
            "town": "Hilton Head Island",
            "county": "Beaufort",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "yes",
            "access_and_parking": "Town page lists Coligny Beach Park with free parking and seasonal lifeguards. Beach parks open daily 6 am-10 pm. Peak beach season March 1-September 7: visitors pay at all town beach parks except Coligny.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Town table: Oct-March any time, leashed or voice control; April-Thursday before Memorial Day 10am-5pm leashed, 5pm-10am leashed or voice control; Friday before Memorial Day-Labor Day 10am-5pm not allowed on beach, 5pm-10am leashed or voice control; Tuesday after Labor Day-Sept 10am-5pm leashed, 5pm-10am leashed or voice control.",
            "lifeguards": "Official beach season April 1-September 30; lifeguards stationed at designated swim areas (includes Coligny) in season.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "Possession or consumption of alcohol, beer or wine prohibited on the beach, dunes and adjacent waters; glassware prohibited.",
            "not_confirmed": "Restrooms not listed on pages read.",
            "official_url": "https://hiltonheadislandsc.gov/our_island/beach/beach_parks.php",
            "source_url": "https://hiltonheadislandsc.gov/our_island/beach/beach_parks.php",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Hilton Head Island town beach parks (Driessen, Folly Field, Islanders, Alder Lane, Burkes, Fish Haul)",
            "town": "Hilton Head Island",
            "county": "Beaufort",
            "kind": "town beach",
            "parking_free": "no",
            "access_and_parking": "Six permit-parking sites. Town page (peak season March 1-Sept 7): visitors pay $3 per hour Monday-Friday and $5 per hour Saturday-Sunday, enforced daily 7 am-5 pm; residents with a beach parking permit park free; pay by phone app, cash no longer accepted. Fines $50-$500. Alder Lane, Burkes, Driessen, Folly Field and Islanders have seasonal lifeguards; Fish Haul has none.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "Same town table as Coligny (see above): no dogs on the beach 10 am-5 pm from the Friday before Memorial Day through Labor Day. New restricted dog area of about two football fields near Fish Haul Creek (about 600 feet from the Fish Haul access), signed.",
            "lifeguards": "Seasonal (beach season April 1-September 30) at designated swim areas: Alder Lane, Coligny, Driessen, Folly Field, Islanders.",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "Alcohol, beer, wine and glassware prohibited on beach and dunes; fines up to $1,092.50 per offense.",
            "not_confirmed": "Restrooms per park not on pages read.",
            "official_url": "https://hiltonheadislandsc.gov/our_island/beach/beach_parks.php",
            "source_url": "https://hiltonheadislandsc.gov/our_island/beach/parking.php",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        },
        {
            "beach": "Daufuskie Island",
            "town": "Daufuskie Island",
            "county": "Beaufort",
            "kind": "county park",
            "parking_free": "not published",
            "access_and_parking": "Ferry only. Beaufort County announcement (January 2024): Lowcountry Ferry runs under county contract from CC Haigh, Jr. Boat Landing, 2 William Hilton Parkway, Hilton Head Island (temporary site) to Daufuskie at 7:00, 10:00 a.m., 1:00, 4:00 p.m.; returns from Melrose Landing 8:30, 11:30 a.m., 2:30, 5:30 p.m. Fares not stated.",
            "entry_fee": "none published",
            "dogs": "not published",
            "lifeguards": "not published",
            "restrooms": "not published",
            "alcohol": "not published",
            "not_confirmed": "Current (2026) ferry schedule/fare, and any public beach access, not confirmed; schedule is from a 2024 notice.",
            "official_url": "https://www.beaufortcountysc.gov/news/2024/01/beaufort-county-finalizes-contract-with-lowcountry-ferry,-ensuring-continuity-of-daufuskie-island-ferry-service.html",
            "source_url": "https://www.beaufortcountysc.gov/news/2024/01/beaufort-county-finalizes-contract-with-lowcountry-ferry,-ensuring-continuity-of-daufuskie-island-ferry-service.html",
            "checked": "2026-10-26"
        }
    ]
}