Living › Cost of Living
South Carolina's overall price level was 92.2 in 2024 where the nation is 100 (BEA Regional Price Parities), with housing rents measured at 73.9. Median gross rent was $1,272 and median home value $299,500 (Census ACS 2024), both below the US figures.
- Price Level92.2US = 100, BEA 2024
- Median Rent$1,272US $1,487
- Median Home$299,500US $360,600
- Sales Tax6%plus up to 1% county
Prices Against The Nation
- Price level, all items92.2US = 100.0 (BEA, 2024) source
- Housing (rents) price level73.9US 100.4 (BEA, 2024) source
- Median home value$299,500US $360,600 source
- Median gross rent$1,272US $1,487 source
- Median household income$72,350US $81,604 source
- Median hourly wage, all jobs$22.35US $24.51 (BLS, May 2025) source
- South Carolina RPP, all items, 2024: 92.244 (U.S. = 100.000). In 2023 it was 92.840 and in 2022 93.636. source
- South Carolina RPP, goods, 2024: 95.334 (U.S. goods index 99.542). source
- South Carolina RPP, services: housing (rents), 2024: 73.924 (U.S. 100.422). BEA notes housing price levels are estimated for tenant-occupied housing. source
- South Carolina RPP, services: utilities, 2024: 93.229 (U.S. 98.445). source
- South Carolina RPP, services: other, 2024: 97.869 (U.S. 100.241). source
- Of the 50 states and D.C., South Carolina ranks 33rd highest on the all-items RPP for 2024 (derived from the same table). source
By County: Income, Homes and Rent
Eight counties, from the same Census table. County values vary a lot within a county; use them as a starting point.
| County | Population | Median household income | Median home value | Median gross rent | Median age |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charleston County | 431,001 | $93,911 | $590,200 | $1,754 | 40.1 |
| Greenville County | 570,745 | $82,648 | $339,800 | $1,381 | 38.5 |
| Richland County | 430,651 | $65,909 | $273,600 | $1,300 | 34.8 |
| Horry County | 413,391 | $68,534 | $325,300 | $1,433 | 49.7 |
| Beaufort County | 201,775 | $90,509 | $539,100 | $1,994 | 49.1 |
| York County | 303,001 | $94,354 | $414,300 | $1,458 | 39.9 |
| Lexington County | 313,774 | $78,447 | $273,100 | $1,248 | 40.1 |
| Spartanburg County | 369,256 | $69,927 | $266,100 | $1,156 | 38.3 |
Work and Wages
- South Carolina unemployment rate was 4.0% in September 2026 (preliminary, seasonally adjusted), per BLS series LASST450000000000003. August was 4.1%, July 4.2%. source
- BLS state unemployment ranking page lists South Carolina at 4.0% for September 2026 (preliminary), rank 28, tied with Louisiana and West Virginia. source
- U.S. unemployment rate was 4.2% in September 2026 (seasonally adjusted), BLS series LNS14000000. August was 4.1%. source
- OEWS May 2025, all occupations, South Carolina: employment 2,305,080; mean hourly wage $28.50; median hourly wage $22.35; mean annual wage $59,280; median annual wage $46,490 (series OEUS4500000000000000000{01,03,08,04,13}). source
- OEWS May 2025, all occupations, United States: mean hourly wage $33.54; median hourly wage $24.51; median annual wage $50,980. source
- The BLS OEWS South Carolina index page lists May 2025 as the latest reference year. source
Taxes You Will Meet
- Individual income tax, tax year 2025: rates run from 0 to a top rate of 6% on taxable income. DOR says brackets are adjusted annually for inflation. source
- Tax year 2026: two brackets, 1.99% on taxable income under $30,000 and 5.21% on $30,000 and above, minus $966. The 2026 South Carolina Income Adjusted Deduction (SCIAD) is $15,000 single or married filing separately, $22,500 head of household, $30,000 married filing jointly. source
- The statewide sales and use tax rate is 6%. Counties may impose an additional 1% local sales tax if voters in the county approve it. Rates by county and municipality are in DOR forms ST-500 and ST-575. source
- Accommodations tax: DOR lists a 2% state accommodations tax in addition to the state sales tax; local governments can charge up to an additional 3% in accommodations tax. source
- Property tax, legal residence: Section 12-43-220 taxes an owner-occupied legal residence and up to five contiguous acres on an assessment of four percent of fair market value. The six percent ratio applies to real property not otherwise provided for, and when an owner is found ineligible for the four percent rate. source
- To get the 4% legal residence rate, contact the county assessor's office. The owner must apply before the first penalty date for the tax year in which the ratio is first claimed, with a statement under penalty of perjury. The residence generally cannot be rented more than 72 days in a calendar year. Notify the assessor within six months of a change in ownership or use; a new owner must apply separately. source
- Legal residence 4% rate statute detail (deadline, proof, 72-day rental limit, penalty of 100% of tax plus interest if later found ineligible): SC Code 12-43-220. source
- Vehicles: a vehicle property tax bill is generated by the county auditor and paid to the county treasurer (see new_resident). DOR says property tax is administered and collected by local governments. source
- Social Security: "Social Security benefits and railroad retirement taxed for federal purposes are not subject to tax in South Carolina" (DOR IIT FAQ, paraphrase of the page). source
- Retirement income deduction: up to $3,000 of qualifying retirement income a year before age 65; up to $10,000 a year at 65 and older. source
- Age 65 and older deduction: up to $15,000 for a resident 65 or older by year end; up to $30,000 for joint filers when both are 65 or older. Retirement deductions reduce it, and the combined total cannot exceed $15,000 per taxpayer. source
- Military retirement: beginning with tax year 2022, all military retirement income included in South Carolina taxable income may be deducted. source
- Homestead Exemption: a complete exemption from tax on the first $50,000 of fair market value of a legal residence for owners over 65, totally and permanently disabled, or legally blind. Contact the county auditor. For Tax Year 2026 the State temporarily authorized an additional Homestead Exemption for certain recipients; the county auditor determines if it applies (amount not stated on the page). source
- SC Code 12-37-250: the first $50,000 of fair market value of the dwelling place is exempt from county, municipal, school and special assessment real estate taxes; the person must be a state resident for at least one year and be 65 by December 31, totally and permanently disabled, or legally blind. Applications generally go to the county auditor before July 16; failure to apply waives the exemption for that year. source
By City
- NewCost of Living in South Carolina by CityCost of living in South Carolina's largest cities→
- NewRent and Home Prices in South Carolina by CityMedian rent, home value, owner costs and rent as a share of income in South→
FAQ
Does South Carolina tax Social Security?
No. The SC Department of Revenue says Social Security benefits taxed for federal purposes are not subject to South Carolina income tax. source
How long do I have to get a South Carolina driver's license after moving?
SCDMV says to apply within 45 days of moving permanently to the state. An eight-year license is $25, and you surrender your out-of-state license. source
How do I get the 4% property tax rate on my home?
Contact your county assessor's office to apply for the 4% legal residence rate on your primary home, before the first penalty date of the tax year in which you first claim it (SC Code 12-43-220). source
What do I pay before registering a car brought from another state?
Property tax to the county treasurer first (the county auditor generates the bill from the VIN and old registration). At SCDMV the published total for a regular passenger vehicle is $305: $250 Infrastructure Maintenance Fee, $15 title, $40 registration, plus the county property tax. source
What We Could Not Confirm
Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.
- SCDMV vehicle registration deadline for new residents: the SCDMV moving-to-SC vehicle page and registration page state no day count (an unofficial summary mentioned 45 days, not confirmed on a page). Late fee schedule (MV-13 PDF) not readable.
- Dollar amount of the temporary 2026 additional Homestead Exemption: DOR page does not state it.
- Hurricane season dates are not on the SCEMD Know Your Zone or Hurricane Guide pages read; taken from NOAA NHC.
- DOR property tax overview page does not describe vehicle property tax rates; no vehicle millage or assessment ratio stated.
- BEA RPP for metro areas and sub-state not collected.
- Mean travel time, 65+ share and homeownership are derived from ACS detailed tables, not read from Census-published profile tables (S0801, DP05, DP04).
- York County travel time uses B08006 because the B08301 file has no York County row.
- DOR ruling page for the 65+ and military deductions was a PDF that could not be read; amounts come from the DOR IIT FAQ page.
- Hardeeville, Greer and other fast-growing places: Census figures reflect boundary changes including annexations; not verified place by place.
Sources
- South Carolina RPP, all items, 2024: 92.244 (U.S. = 100.000). In 2023
- South Carolina unemployment rate was 4.0% in September 2026 (prelimina
- BLS state unemployment ranking page lists South Carolina at 4.0% for S
- U.S. unemployment rate was 4.2% in September 2026 (seasonally adjusted
- OEWS May 2025, all occupations, South Carolina: employment 2,305,080;
- OEWS May 2025, all occupations, United States: mean hourly wage $33.54
- The BLS OEWS South Carolina index page lists May 2025 as the latest re
- Individual income tax, tax year 2025: rates run from 0 to a top rate o
- The statewide sales and use tax rate is 6%. Counties may impose an add
- Accommodations tax: DOR lists a 2% state accommodations tax in additio
- Property tax, legal residence: Section 12-43-220 taxes an owner-occupi
- To get the 4% legal residence rate, contact the county assessor's offi
- Vehicles: a vehicle property tax bill is generated by the county audit
- Social Security: "Social Security benefits and railroad retirement tax
- SC Code 12-37-250: the first $50,000 of fair market value of the dwell
- Census Bureau Vintage 2025 state totals
- Census Bureau Vintage 2025 city/town totals SC
- Census Bureau Vintage 2024 city/town totals SC
- Census Bureau ACS 2024 1-year table-based summary file
Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.
Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “Cost of Living in South Carolina”, itssouthcarolina.com/living/cost-of-living-in-south-carolina/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.
