It’s South Carolina
HalloweenHalloween in South Carolina: haunted trails, trunk-or-treats and fall festivals, dated and priced →Halloween Events in South Carolina →
This Week
Myrtle Beach SkyWheel ferris wheel rising behind boardwalk shops and palm trees

Destinations › Grand Strand › Myrtle Beach

Myrtle Beach is in Horry County, in South Carolina's Grand Strand, with about 40,535 residents (2024 Census estimate). Myrtle Beach was incorporated on March 12, 1938, and became a city in 1957, when its permanent population first passed 5,000.

  • Population40,535Census estimate, July 2024
  • CountyHorry CountyGrand Strand region
  • Our Guides Nearby9parks, attractions, venues within 25 mi
  • Things to Do12 pickshours, costs, kids, dogs

Plan It in Three Lines

  1. Things to Do

    12 picks with hours, costs and kid, dog and rain notes.

    Open the list
  2. Where to Park

    A. Beach accesses and street ends (citywide): $3.00 per hour or $15.00 all day

    All parking below
  3. What's On

    Dated events in and around Myrtle Beach, checked on organizer pages.

    Events page

Things to Do in Myrtle Beach Myrtle Beach Events

About Myrtle Beach

  • Myrtle Beach was incorporated on March 12, 1938, and became a city in 1957, when its permanent population first passed 5,000. source
  • The city is at the heart of the Grand Strand, a 60-mile stretch of coastline on South Carolina's northeastern coast. source
  • The city page says Myrtle Beach offers wide beaches, entertainment, nightlife, golf, shopping, dining and live theatre. source
  • The name comes from the wax myrtle shrub and was chosen in a 1900 naming contest; earlier names included Long Bay, Withers and New Town. source
  • Myrtle Beach Air Force Base operated from the 1950s until it closed in 1993; the former base property is now the Market Common district. source

Areas Visitors Use

  • Oceanfront Boardwalk and Promenade The oceanfront walkway between the 14th Avenue North pier and the 2nd Avenue pier, passing through Plyler Park; it has a quieter natural section and a livelier section with shops and restaurants. source
  • Broadway at the Beach An entertainment and shopping complex at 1325 Celebrity Circle, on US Highway 17 between 21st and 29th Avenue North (the Highway 17 location is summary of the operator's page; the street address is on the operator's FAQ). (not confirmed on the official page) source
  • The Market Common A town-center district at 4017 Deville Street on the former air base property, with shops, restaurants, a cinema, a children's museum and a playground. source
  • Grand Park / Warbird Park (Farrow Parkway area) City open space with lake, trails, athletic fields and the Warbird Park aircraft and Wall of Service memorial, on the former base land. source
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (south end) A state park at 4401 South Kings Highway with 1 mile of undeveloped beach, a fishing pier, campground and nature center. source

Getting There and Around

  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR) is at 1100 Jetport Road, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577. source
  • The airport lists these airline partners: Allegiant Air, American Airlines, Avelo Airlines, Breeze Airlines, Contour Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Frontier Airlines, Sun Country Airlines, Southwest Airlines, United Airlines and Porter Airlines. source
  • Airport parking per day: Short Term Lot $32; Long-Term Lot $12; Economy Lots C and D $10. source
  • At MYR, taxis wait outside Door 6 at Baggage Claim; Uber and Lyft use a commercial lane across from Door 5; the car rental facility is open until midnight daily; some hotels offer free shuttles. source
  • Coast RTA Route 15S serves the airport from the Jetport Road bus stop, daily 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. source
  • Visit Myrtle Beach says driving is the most popular way to reach the Grand Strand; driving distances from cities are listed on its Driving Distances page. source
  • Coast RTA (Waccamaw Regional Transportation Authority) runs local bus service, 9 fixed routes serving Georgetown, Myrtle Beach, Surfside Beach and Conway, seven days a week, 362 days a year. Phone (843) 488-0865; website coastrta.com. Fares are not stated on the page. source
  • The Boardwalk is a walking route along the oceanfront, open around the clock. source

Visitor center: Myrtle Beach Welcome Center (Visit Myrtle Beach main office). 1200 N. Oak Street, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577; 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Thursday, 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Friday. A second welcome center at the airport (1100 Jetport Road) has hours that vary by season.; (843) 626-7444; toll-free (800) 356-3016 source

Parking in Myrtle Beach

WhereRateWhenNotesSource
A. Beach accesses and street ends (citywide)$3.00 per hour or $15.00 all dayPaid 9:00 a.m. to midnight, seven days a week, March 1 through September 30Paid year-round north of 21st Avenue North and south of Sixth Avenue South. Zone numbers are on meters, signs and pay stations.source
B. Core Business District (6th Avenue North to 16th Avenue North, Ocean Boulevard to Kings Highway)$2.00 per hour; no all-day ratePaid 9:00 a.m. to midnight, March 1 through September 30Free at city-metered spaces from October 1 through February 28 (February 29 in leap years) between Sixth Avenue South and 21st Avenue North, west to Kings Highway; the page says the free period begins October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2025-32.source
C. Secondary (29th Avenue South to 6th Avenue North, and 16th Avenue North to 67th Avenue North, Ocean Boulevard to Kings Highway)$2.00 per hour or $10 all dayPaid 9:00 a.m. to midnight, March 1 through September 30Same Oct 1 to Feb 28 free period as zone B applies in the Sixth Avenue South to 21st Avenue North block west to Kings Highway.source
PaymentCoins at all meters; some take cards; pay stations take coins and cards; Text-2-Park (text zone number to 25023); ParkMobile appHandicap placard or hang tag, Purple Heart, Disabled American Veterans and Medal of Honor plates park free at public meters statewide.source
Seven-Day Visitor Pass$50Seven consecutive days at paid metered areas (not decal-only areas)Sold at the Pavilion Parking Garage, 914 North Kings Highway.source
Unpaid citationStarts at $30; $60 after 30 dayssource
Broadway at the BeachNot stated on the pages readAdmission to the complex is free; individual attractions charge fees. An unofficial summary of the operator's groups page lists free parking, but that page was not read (not confirmed on the official page).source

Beaches in Myrtle Beach

BeachAccess and parkingDogsLifeguardsSource
Myrtle Beach oceanfront (city beach)Beach accesses and street ends are paid parking zone A ($3.00/hour or $15.00 all day). Aquatic activity not allowed within 75 yards of a pier.May 1 through Labor Day: dogs allowed on the beach only before 10:00 a.m. and after 5:00 p.m. Day after Labor Day through April 30: any time of day. Leash seven feet or shorter at all times (service dogs excluded); owners must pick up waste. Violations: fine up to $500 and/or up to 30 days in jail.Provided through a franchise agreement with the city; in peak season three EMS crews are on the beach seven days a week. Flags: double red = water closed; single red = hazardous; yellow = medium hazard; green = generally good; blue = dangerous marine life.source
Beach rules: alcohol, glass, shadeAlcohol and glass containers are not allowed on the beach. Memorial Day through Labor Day only circular umbrellas up to 7.5 feet in diameter; day after Labor Day to day before Memorial Day tents and shading devices up to 12 by 12 feet allowed (10 feet behind the umbrella line). Setup not before 8:00 a.m., removed by 7:00 p.m.source
Myrtle Beach State Park beach1 mile of undeveloped beach; parking first-come, first-served and limited; arrive outside 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on summer weekends and holidays.Pets not allowed on beaches from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily, May 1 through Labor Day (Horry County ordinance); bikes also not allowed on the beach in those hours.source

Comparing beaches? See which South Carolina beach to pick.

Dogs

  • Personal electronic devices are not allowed on any city-owned property, including the boardwalk (listed on the same city page as the dog rules). source
  • The city lists three Bark Parks (dog parks): 5000 Claire Chapin Epps Drive, 3909 Center South Drive and 200 Collins Street. source

When to Go

  • The Atlantic hurricane season runs from June 1 to November 30; the peak is September 10, with most activity between mid-August and mid-October. source
  • City paid parking runs March 1 through September 30 in the main oceanfront zones; metered spaces between Sixth Avenue South and 21st Avenue North are free October 1 through February 28. source
  • Beach dog hours and boardwalk dog/bike hours change on the day after Labor Day. source
  • Visit Myrtle Beach lists weekly summer fireworks at Broadway at the Beach, usually Tuesday and Friday nights. source

Coming Up in and Near Myrtle Beach

48 more on the full events calendar.

Events within 15 miles, measured in a straight line to the centre of the event's town. Dates come from our checked events list; confirm with the organizer.

Near Myrtle Beach

Around Myrtle Beach within 25 miles
10 mi20 mi25 miNSEW123456789
  1. 1Pelicans Ballparkballparkunder 1 mi
  2. 2Ripley's Aquarium of Myrtle Beachaquariumunder 1 mi
  3. 3Myrtle Beach Convention Centerconvention centerunder 1 mi
  4. 4Myrtle Beach Boardwalk and Promenadeoceanfront boardwalkabout 1 mi
  5. 5Myrtle Beach State ParkState Parkabout 5 mi
  6. 6Brooks Stadiumstadiumabout 9 mi
  7. 7Alabama Theatretheatreabout 10 mi
  8. 8Huntington Beach State ParkState Parkabout 17 mi
  9. 9Brookgreen Gardenssculpture garden, zoo and nature preserveabout 18 mi

Straight-line distances between map points, not driving miles. Dots sit in their true compass direction; distance is stretched near the middle so close neighbors stay readable.

Nearby Towns With Their Own Guide

Plan Your Stay

FAQ

Can I bring my dog on the Myrtle Beach beach in summer?

From May 1 through Labor Day, dogs are allowed on the beach only before 10:00 a.m. and after 5:00 p.m., on a leash of seven feet or shorter. After Labor Day through April 30 they are allowed at any time. source

When are dogs and bikes allowed on the Boardwalk?

May 1 through Labor Day, only 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.; the rest of the year at any time. source

How much does beach parking cost in Myrtle Beach?

At beach accesses and street ends it is $3.00 per hour or $15.00 all day; in the Core Business District it is $2.00 per hour; in the secondary zone $2.00 per hour or $10 all day. Paid hours are 9:00 a.m. to midnight, March 1 through September 30. source

Is parking free in the off season?

City meters between Sixth Avenue South and 21st Avenue North, west to Kings Highway, are free October 1 through February 28. North of 21st Avenue North and south of Sixth Avenue South, parking is paid year-round. source

Is there a fee to walk the Boardwalk or enter Broadway at the Beach?

The Boardwalk page states no admission cost and the walkway is open around the clock; Broadway at the Beach says admission is free and only attractions charge fees. source

Is alcohol allowed on the beach?

No. Alcohol and glass containers are not allowed on the Myrtle Beach beach. source

How many people live in Myrtle Beach?

About 40,535, the U.S. Census Bureau’s estimate for July 1, 2024 (Census table).

What We Could Not Confirm

Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.

  • Dog rules in 2026: a WISTV 2026 article and a Horry News piece surfaced in search suggested the summer restrictions might have been changed or suspended; the city's own beach conditions page (read 2026-10-26) still shows the May 1 to Labor Day 10 a.m./5 p.m. rule. Not confirmed on a city notice; builder should re-check the page before publishing.
  • Parking: the city page says free period 'begins October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2025-32' – confirm no later amendment.
  • SkyWheel height: operator says 200 foot, Visit Myrtle Beach says 187 feet; hours and prices are undated on the operator page.
  • Broadway at the Beach: parking cost not on pages read; address-by-highway statement came, not a read page. (not confirmed on the official page)
  • Family Kingdom, Myrtle Waves, WonderWorks, EdVenture: official hours/prices not read (Family Kingdom site returned a certificate error; others only named on Visit Myrtle Beach listings).
  • Warbird Park / Grand Park hours: no official hours found. Warbird address 150 Farrow Parkway vs memorial listed at 564 Farrow Parkway on the city facilities page.
  • Lifeguard season dates for the city beach not stated beyond 'peak season' on the city page.
  • Boardwalk length: Visit Myrtle Beach says 1.2 miles; city anniversary article says extended to 1.3 miles.
  • Myrtle Beach airport address is on its FAQ page; airline count differs across Visit Myrtle Beach (9 or 10) and the airport page (inconsistent), so no count is given.

Sources

  1. U.S. Census Bureau, city and town population estimates, Vintage 2024
  2. City of Myrtle Beach – About Myrtle Beach
  3. City of Myrtle Beach – Beach Conditions & Laws
  4. City of Myrtle Beach – Parking Meters
  5. City of Myrtle Beach – Facilities, Parks & Playgrounds
  6. City of Myrtle Beach – Wall of Service
  7. City of Myrtle Beach – Boardwalk anniversary
  8. Visit Myrtle Beach – Boardwalk
  9. Visit Myrtle Beach – Things to do on the Boardwalk
  10. Visit Myrtle Beach – Visitor Centers
  11. Visit Myrtle Beach – Maps and Transportation
  12. Visit Myrtle Beach – Getting Around
  13. Visit Myrtle Beach – Myrtle Beach community page
  14. Myrtle Beach International Airport
  15. MYR – FAQ
  16. MYR – Ground transportation
  17. Broadway at the Beach – FAQ
  18. Broadway at the Beach – Hours
  19. The Market Common
  20. SkyWheel Myrtle Beach
  21. Ripley's Aquarium of Myrtle Beach
  22. Myrtle Beach State Park (SC PRT)
  23. NOAA National Hurricane Center climatology

Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.

Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “Myrtle Beach, SC Travel Guide”, itssouthcarolina.com/destinations/grand-strand/myrtle-beach/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.