It’s South Carolina
HalloweenHalloween in South Carolina: haunted trails, trunk-or-treats and fall festivals, dated and priced →Halloween Events in South Carolina →
This Week

Things to Do › Outdoors and Hiking › Best Hikes

16 of South Carolina's best-known hikes, with length, difficulty, fees and dog rules exactly as the park or forest publishes them. Filter by region; 13 of them are in the Upstate.

  • Hikes16on this page
  • Regions3Upstate, Midlands, Lowcountry
  • Free0as the operator states
  • CheckedOct 262026

The Short Answer

  • Table Rock Trail is 3.6 miles one way and rated Very Strenuous by SC State Parks; SC Trails says it climbs 2,000 feet to the 3,124-foot summit. source
  • Sassafras Mountain, owned and managed by SCDNR, is the highest point in South Carolina at 3,553 feet. source
  • Congaree National Park's 2.6-mile boardwalk has a flat, accessible surface and there is no entrance fee. source
  • The Foothills Trail is 77 miles long, with major trailheads at Table Rock State Park, US 178, SC 130, SC 107 and Oconee State Park. source

Every Hikes on Our List

16 of 16
NameWhereWhatWhenCostGood to knowSource
Croft State Park trailsSpartanburg
Upstate
Former WWII Army training camp, now 7,054 acres with 20+ miles of biking trails, 20+ miles of equestrian trails and 2.5 miles of hiking-only trails.'A small section of the Southside Loop remains closed.' (park advisory, 2026-10-26)
Standard Time 7am-6pm daily, extended to 8pm Fri; Daylight Saving Time 7am-9pm daily.
$3 adults; $1.50 SC seniors; $1 children 6-15; 5 and younger free.Dogs: Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet or under physical restraint (park page).source
Foothills Trail (National Recreation Trail)Upstate SC and western NC
Upstate
Long trail between Table Rock and Oconee state parks; Foothills Trail Conservancy says it is 77 miles long and through-hikers should plan 5-10 days.Year-round (not otherwise published).Parking fees vary by trailhead (Table Rock and Oconee state park fees; an earlier check recorded $2-$3 at Whitewater Falls).Access: Day-hikers and weekend backpackers can use numerous trailheads; major trailheads: Table Rock State Park, US 178, SC 130, SC 107, Oconee State Park. Kiosk registration required (Conservancy registration page, ).
Dogs: Not stated on the Foothills Trail Conservancy pages read.
Parking: Foothills and Palmetto Trail hikers leaving a vehicle overnight at Table Rock must display a valid parking permit bought at the park Visitors Center (Table Rock page).
source
Kings Mountain National Military Park: Battlefield TrailBlacksburg
Upstate
Paved loop through the 1780 Kings Mountain battlefield; the park also links to longer trails and the Ridgeline Trail.Not listed'There are no fees charged to visit Kings Mountain National Military Park.'Access: Battlefield Trail 1.5 mi (paved), moderate to strenuous; Browns Mountain Trail 5 mi total; National Recreation/Park Loop 16 mi, strenuous (NPS trails page, ).
Dogs: Leash no longer than six feet, under physical control; not allowed in the visitor center except service animals.
source
Kings Mountain State Park trailsBlacksburg
Upstate
State park next to the national military park with 20+ miles of hiking trails, 30 miles of equestrian trails and a Ridgeline Trail that 'connects 3 parks and 2 states'.
7 a.m.-6 p.m., daily (extended to 7 a.m.-9 p.m. during Daylight Saving Time).
$3 adults; $1.50 SC seniors; $1 children 6-15; 5 and younger free.Access: Per-trail lengths not on the park home page.
Dogs: Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet or under physical restraint (park page).
source
Lower Whitewater Falls overlook from Bad Creek (Foothills Trail spur)Salem area (Oconee County)
Upstate
Blue-blazed spur from the Duke Energy Bad Creek Hydroelectric Station parking area, partly on the Foothills Trail, to an observation platform facing the 200-foot Lower Whitewater Falls.Not published for 2026.
'Entrance onto the property is allowed only during daylight hours. Exiting the property through this gate is allowed at all hours.' (SC Trails)
SC Trails lists 'No Fee'.Access: SC Trails: 2.00 miles one way, natural surface, Moderate; 'a moderate hike of 45 minutes to an hour'; summary says the platform is at the end of a 1.9-mile trail. Spur crosses the Whitewater River at 0.6 mile.
Dogs: SC Trails lists 'Pets' as a trail feature; no leash rule printed.
Parking: Lighted parking lot with a public telephone and portable toilets, about 2 miles past the automatic gate (SC Trails).
source
Palmetto Trail: Blue Ridge Electric Co-Op PassagePickens (Table Rock State Park to SC 178)
Upstate
Palmetto Trail passage from Pinnacle Pavilion in Table Rock State Park through the Wesleyan Camp into the Jocassee Gorges.Not listed'Depends': Table Rock trailhead has park admission; the SC Hwy 178 trailhead has no fee.Access: 12.6 miles, Moderate.
Dogs: Allowed, leashed at all times.
source
Palmetto Trail: Middle Saluda PassageJones Gap / Caesars Head state parks
Upstate
Passage named for the Middle Saluda River through Jones Gap and Caesars Head state parks, loosely following the 1850s Jones Gap Turnpike.NOTICE on page: the eastern section, including part of the Hospital Rock Trail and the Falls Creek Falls Trail at Jones Gap, is 'CLOSED TO ALL TRAIL USERS'.Fees: Yes.Access: 11.1 miles, Strenuous, natural surface.
Dogs: Pets: Yes (leash rule of the state parks applies on park land).
source
Paris Mountain State Park trailsGreenville
Upstate
About 17 miles of hiking and biking trails on a monadnock near downtown Greenville, from a 0.75-mile lake loop to strenuous ridge loops.All trails open except the Fire Tower Little Spur Trail, as of 2026-10-26 (trails page).
8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., daily.
$6 adults; $3.75 SC seniors; $3.50 children 6-15; 5 and younger free.Access: Lake Placid Trail 0.75-mile loop, Easy (~30 min); Brissy Ridge 2.9-mile loop, Moderate to Strenuous; Sulphur Springs 3.8-mile loop, Strenuous; Mountain Creek 1.3 mi Moderate; Kanuga 2.0 mi Strenuous; North Lake 1.2-mile loop Moderate; Fire Tower 0.4 mi Easy (climbs 400 feet); Sassafras 2.3-mile loop Moderate; Turtle 0.4 mi Easy.
Dogs: Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet or under physical restraint (park page). No dogs in the roped-off swimming area.
source
Rainbow Falls (Jones Gap State Park)Marietta
Upstate
Hike from Jones Gap on the Jones Gap Trail and red-blazed Rainbow Falls Trail to a waterfall on YMCA Camp Greenville property.Year-round; trails close one hour before sunset (park page).
9 AM to sunset daily (park page, ).
$6 adults; $3.75 SC seniors; $3.50 children 6-15; 5 and under free (park page).Access: Park manager: 'a 2.2-mile, 1,200-foot climb to the bottom of the falls'. SC Trails: 5.00 miles round trip, natural (rugged), Strenuous; about 0.6 mile on the Jones Gap Trail, then 1.6 miles on the Rainbow Falls Trail. Park: all trails are considered advanced. Registration card at the trailhead.
Dogs: Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet or under physical restraint (park page).
Parking: Very limited; weekend and holiday 9 a.m.-1 p.m. parking reservation for guaranteed entry; no roadside parking (park page, ).
source
Raven Cliff Falls Trail (Caesars Head State Park)Cleveland
Upstate
Out-and-back trail from a parking area on US 276 to an overlook of Raven Cliff Falls, listed at an estimated 420 feet.Year-round; trails close one hour before sunset (park page).
Park 9 AM to 6 PM daily, extended to 9 AM to sunset during Daylight Saving Time (park page).
Trail access: $3 adults; $1.50 SC seniors; $1 children 6-15; age 5 and younger free (park page).Access: SC Trails: 2.20 miles one way, natural and boardwalk surface, Moderate. Park page: 'All trails on park are rated as advanced and are in a wilderness setting.' Elevation gain not published. an earlier check found other published figures: 4 miles round trip (park), 4.4 mi round trip (Visit Greenville).
Dogs: Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet or under physical restraint (park page).
Parking: Limited, first-come first-served; no day-use parking reservations; no roadside or highway parking; walk-ins not allowed (park page). Trailhead is across US 276 from the parking area, 1.1 miles past the visitor center (SC Trails).
source
Sassafras Mountain Overlook (highest point in SC)Rocky Bottom area (northern Pickens County)
Upstate
SCDNR-owned overlook at the highest point in South Carolina, 3,553 feet, also used as a parking area for the Foothills Trail and Palmetto Trail.Road (F. Van Clayton Highway) can close for snow and ice; it reopened Feb. 6, 2022 after a winter storm (SCDNR release).
'Hours are one hour before sunrise and one hour after sunset' (SCDNR, 2022 release).
Not stated on the SCDNR page read.Access: Trail length and grade from the lot to the platform not published on the SCDNR page read. Bicycles not allowed on the overlook platform; drones not allowed.
Dogs: 'Pets must be on a leash.' (SCDNR). Leash length not stated.
Parking: Parking area near the top (exact capacity not published).
source
Table Rock Trail (Table Rock State Park)Pickens
Upstate
Red-blazed out-and-back trail that climbs to the summit of Table Rock Mountain (3,124 feet).Year-round. Construction on the Nature Center deck and Carrick Creek Falls access began 7-27-2026; hikers follow arrows to the Concessions Area to register and reach the temporary trail access point (park page).
Su-Th 7 a.m.-7 p.m. (to 9 p.m. Fri-Sat); Daylight Saving Time Su-Th 7 a.m.-9 p.m. (to 10 p.m. Fri-Sat). Hikers must be off trails before sunset (park page).
$6 adults; $3.75 SC seniors (65+); $3.50 children 6-15; 5 and under free (park page).Access: Park: 3.6 miles one way, Very Strenuous. SC Trails: ascends 2,000 feet to the summit; natural surface; Strenuous. Register at the trailhead kiosk or Nature Center, one card per group.
Dogs: 'All pets must remain leashed while in the park; this includes any pets on hiking trails.' Keep dogs on a 6-ft maximum leash. Pets not allowed on the swim beach (park page).
Parking: Not published.
source
Yellow Branch Falls TrailWalhalla
Upstate
Forest Service trail from the Yellow Branch Picnic Area to the base of a 50-foot cascade.Open; picnic ground 'open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. year round' (SC Trails).
Picnic ground 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. (SC Trails).
SC Trails lists 'No Fee'.Access: 0.2 mile on the Nature Trail, then 1.3 miles to the falls; SC Trails: 1.50 miles one way, natural surface, Moderate, about 1 hour; skirts deep ravines, slippery when wet (SC Trails and Forest Service).
Dogs: 'Leashed pets are welcome.' (Forest Service, )
Parking: Lot at the trailhead plus an overflow lot up the hill (Forest Service).
source
Congaree National Park Boardwalk LoopHopkins
Midlands
2.6-mile boardwalk loop through the old-growth floodplain forest from the Harry Hampton Visitor Center area.Not listed'There is no fee to enter the park.' (NPS fees page, )Access: 'The flat surface is accessible and provides a leisurely way to experience the Congaree wilderness.' Self-guided brochure in the visitor center breezeway; benches mapped along the route.
Dogs: Pets allowed on all trails including the boardwalk; leash 6 feet maximum; never left unattended. Large sections of the boardwalk are elevated and confined.
Parking: Three lots outside the visitor center; first two lots each have two accessible spaces (accessibility page).
source
Hunting Island State Park trailsHunting Island (Beaufort area)
Lowcountry
Short trails through maritime forest, lagoon and marsh on a barrier island, including the Marsh Boardwalk.Not listed$8 adults; $5 SC seniors; $4 children 6-15; 5 and under free.Access: Things-to-do page: Campground Access trail (1 mile), Lighthouse Trail (0.3 mile), Marsh Boardwalk NRT (0.4 mile). Trails page lists Diamondback Rattlesnake 1.9 mi (Moderately Strenuous) and several Easy trails 0.2-2.0 mi. Bridge to Little Hunting Island/Boneyard Beach temporarily closed for high tides as of 2026-10-26.
Dogs: Not allowed in the cabin area, on the pier, inside the lighthouse complex, or on the tip of North Beach past posted markers; elsewhere leash no longer than six feet.
source
Palmetto Trail: Awendaw PassageAwendaw
Lowcountry
Southern end of the mountains-to-sea Palmetto Trail, starting at the Forest Service Buck Hall Recreation Area on the Intracoastal Waterway and running west along Awendaw Creek salt marsh.Not listedFees: Yes.Access: 7.1 miles, Easy, natural surface; trail is on hunting grounds; no camping.
Dogs: Pets: Yes.
source

Hours, dates and prices are copied from each operator’s own page on the date shown; check before you go.

Before You Hike in The Mountain Bridge Area

  • Caesars Head: all trails on park are rated as advanced and are in a wilderness setting; all hikers must be off trails one hour before sunset; there is no roadside parking. source
  • Caesars Head often reaches parking capacity on weekends in October-November; entry is first-come first-served and walk-ins are not allowed. source
  • Many Caesars Head trails have been temporarily closed since Hurricane Helene; the park links an updated map of open trails. source

Hunting Season Note

  • The Palmetto Trail lists the Awendaw Passage as a trail on hunting grounds. source

FAQ

How hard is the Table Rock hike?

SC State Parks rates the 3.6-mile (one way) Table Rock Trail Very Strenuous; it climbs about 2,000 feet. Register at the trailhead kiosk and be off the trail before sunset. source

How long is the hike to Raven Cliff Falls?

SC Trails lists 2.2 miles one way, Moderate; the park rates all its trails as advanced. Trail access costs $3 for adults. source

Is there a fee at Kings Mountain National Military Park?

No. The NPS says there are no fees charged to visit the park. source

What are the hours at Sassafras Mountain?

SCDNR lists hours as one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset (2022 release). source

What We Could Not Confirm

Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.

  • Elevation gain is published only for Rainbow Falls (1,200-foot climb, park manager), Table Rock (2,000 feet, SC Trails) and the Paris Mountain Fire Tower Trail (400 feet); left blank elsewhere.
  • Sassafras Mountain: no current SCDNR page with trail length from the lot to the tower, fee, or 2026 hours was found; the 2022 SCDNR release is the newest official text read. unofficial summary mentioned a 1/3-mile paved peak trail and a 2022 trail from NC; not used.
  • SC Trails (sctrails.net, run by SCPRT) pages may be older than park pages; user comments on those pages were ignored. Where SC Trails and park pages differ (Raven Cliff 2.2 mi one way vs park's 4 mi round trip; Rainbow Falls 5 mi round trip vs 2.2 mi climb), both are shown.
  • Foothills Trail section-by-section lengths were not read; only the 77-mile total and trailheads are given.
  • Kings Mountain State Park per-trail lengths and the Ridgeline Trail length are not on the park home page (trails sub-page not read).
  • Lake Jocassee hikes other than Lower Whitewater (e.g., Laurel Fork Falls by Foothills Trail) not confirmed on an official trail page in this pass.
  • Bad Creek gate hours: SC Trails says daylight entry only; exact hours not published there; no current Duke Energy page was found (duke-energy.com URL did not load for us).

Sources

  1. SC State Parks (SCPRT): table rock > things to do
  2. SC Department of Natural Resources: news > 2022 > feb > feb07 sassafras.php
  3. National Park Service: cong > planyourvisit > boardwalk.htm
  4. Foothills Trail Conservancy: trail overview
  5. SC State Parks (SCPRT): caesars head
  6. South Carolina Trails (SCPRT): trails > trail > raven cliff falls
  7. SC State Parks (SCPRT): caesars head > trails
  8. SC State Parks (SCPRT): table rock
  9. South Carolina Trails (SCPRT): trails > trail > table rock
  10. SC State Parks (SCPRT): table rock > trails
  11. SC State Parks (SCPRT): jones gap
  12. South Carolina Trails (SCPRT): trails > trail > rainbow falls
  13. South Carolina Trails (SCPRT): trails > trail > lower whitewater falls
  14. USDA Forest Service: r08 > francismarionsumter > recreation > yellow branch falls
  15. South Carolina Trails (SCPRT): trails > trail > yellow branch falls
  16. Palmetto Conservation / The Palmetto Trails: trails > trail > blue ridge electric co op passage
  17. Palmetto Conservation / The Palmetto Trails: trails > trail > middle saluda passage
  18. Palmetto Conservation / The Palmetto Trails: trails > trail > awendaw passage
  19. SC State Parks (SCPRT): paris mountain
  20. SC State Parks (SCPRT): paris mountain > trails
  21. National Park Service: kimo > planyourvisit > walking hiking trails.htm
  22. National Park Service: kimo > planyourvisit > fees.htm
  23. National Park Service: kimo > planyourvisit > pets.htm
  24. SC State Parks (SCPRT): kings mountain
  25. National Park Service: cong > planyourvisit > pets.htm
  26. National Park Service: cong > planyourvisit > accessibility.htm
  27. SC State Parks (SCPRT): hunting island
  28. SC State Parks (SCPRT): hunting island > things to do
  29. SC State Parks (SCPRT): hunting island > trails
  30. SC State Parks (SCPRT): croft

Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.

Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “Best Hikes in South Carolina”, itssouthcarolina.com/things-to-do/outdoors-and-hiking/best-hikes-in-south-carolina/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.