Destinations › Charleston vs Savannah
Charleston (157,665 people) and Savannah (148,808) are close in size (Census, July 2024), and both downtowns are National Historic Landmark districts. Charleston has barrier-island beach towns such as Folly Beach and Sullivan's Island close by; Savannah's city code lets you carry a drink of 16 ounces or less in a marked downtown area. Every fact below is from a city, agency or organizer page.
- Cities2side by side
- Charleston157,665people, July 2024
- Savannah148,808people, July 2024
- Sources17official pages
The Short Answer
- Charleston city, SC population estimate July 1, 2024: 157,665; Savannah city, GA: 148,808 (U.S. Census Bureau Vintage 2024 city/town population estimates file, July 1, 2024; QuickFacts blocked automated access but uses the same estimates). source
- The Charleston Historic District was designated a National Historic Landmark District on October 9, 1960; the Savannah National Historic Landmark District was designated by the Secretary of the Interior in 1966. source
- Savannah's code lets licensed bars sell one alcoholic drink in a paper or plastic cup (no more than 16 fluid ounces) to carry on streets inside a set downtown area. source
- Savannah's Belles Ferry across the Savannah River is free. source
- The Charleston Water Taxi sells a $17 all-day pass. source
Population
- Charleston city, South Carolina: 2020 estimates base 150,599; July 1, 2024 estimate 157,665 (U.S. Census Bureau Vintage 2024 city/town population estimates file, July 1, 2024; QuickFacts blocked automated access but uses the same estimates). source
- Savannah city, Georgia: 2020 estimates base 147,802; July 1, 2024 estimate 148,808 (U.S. Census Bureau Vintage 2024 city/town population estimates file, July 1, 2024; QuickFacts blocked automated access but uses the same estimates). source
Getting There
- Charleston International Airport (CHS) lists nonstop destinations including Seattle, Los Angeles, Denver, Dallas / Fort Worth, Chicago, Boston and New York City; airlines named on the CHS site: Alaska, American, Delta, JetBlue, Southwest, Spirit and United. CHS does not state a count. source
- Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (SAV) lists nonstop destinations served by Allegiant, Breeze, Delta, Southwest, jetBlue, American Airlines, United, Sun Country and Avelo, with many marked seasonal; SAV does not state a count. source
Historic Districts
- Charleston Historic District: National Historic Landmark District October 9, 1960; listed on the National Register October 15, 1966, with boundary increases January 30, 1970; July 16, 1978; and August 2, 1984. source
- Charleston was settled in 1670 (Charles Towne) and the state capital moved from Charleston to Columbia in 1788. source
- Savannah National Historic Landmark District was designated in 1966; its qualities include the Savannah Town Plan (Oglethorpe Plan) and the buildings built on it. source
- NPS: Savannah's plan has existed intact since the city's founding in 1733; 'Twenty-four tree-shaded, park-like open spaces called squares' are described as the essence of the city. source
Beaches
- Folly Beach: barrier island minutes from downtown Charleston with a fishing pier, Folly Beach County Park on the west end and surfing at The Washout. source
- Sullivan's Island: two-and-a-half-mile barrier island with Fort Moultrie and the Sullivan's Island Lighthouse. source
- Isle of Palms is 12 miles from downtown Charleston. source
- Tybee Island is a barrier island seven miles long, with North Beach, Mid Beach, South Beach and Back River Beach; Little Tybee Island is reachable only by boat. source
Drinking Rules
- Savannah Code Sec. 6-1214(b) (amended 2017, effective January 1, 2018): within the downtown area bounded by the Talmadge Bridge/West Boundary St., Jones Street, the railroad track east of Savannah River Landing and the river (plus city parts of Hutchinson Island), a Class C licensee may sell one drink per person in a paper or plastic cup; no can, bottle or glass. source
- Savannah: no person may possess an open container of alcohol over 16 fluid ounces on streets, sidewalks, parks, squares or other public places in that area; the rules apply during the Saint Patrick's Day Festival. source
- Charleston park rules: no person shall possess an open container or consume beer, wine or alcohol in a public park or playground in the City except at a group function with a Police Department permit. source
Signature Events
- Savannah St. Patrick's Day: the parade committee says Savannah's Irish Catholic community has celebrated the Feast of Saint Patrick since 1824; the day starts with 8:00am Mass on March 17 at the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist, followed by a parade in historic downtown. source
- Charleston St. Patrick's Day parade (2025 city notice): starts 10:00 a.m. on King Street at Radcliffe Street, proceeds south to Broad Street and ends at Broad and Legare streets; estimated conclusion 11:30 a.m. source
Ferry and Water Taxi
- Savannah Belles Ferry: free service across the Savannah River between downtown's Riverwalk and Hutchinson Island (Savannah Convention Center), every 10 minutes from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day; dogs on a leash or in a carrier. source
- Charleston Water Taxi: departs hourly from Waterfront Park, Maritime Center, Patriots Point (USS Yorktown) and Charleston Harbor Resort; $17 all-day pass, kids 3 and under free; one-way fare $13. source
Lodging Taxes
- City of Charleston (Charleston County part): taxes on accommodations total 14.0%. source
FAQ
Which is bigger, Charleston or Savannah?
By the Census Bureau's July 1, 2024 estimates, Charleston city had 157,665 people and Savannah city had 148,808. source
Can you walk around with a drink in Savannah?
In the downtown area set in city code, yes: one drink in a paper or plastic cup, no more than 16 fluid ounces, no glass or cans. source
Which historic district became a National Historic Landmark first?
Charleston's, on October 9, 1960. Savannah's was designated in 1966. source
What We Could Not Confirm
Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.
- Distance between the cities left empty (computed by the site).
- Census QuickFacts (census.gov/quickfacts) did not load for us to automated fetch; figures come from the Census Bureau's Vintage 2024 SUB-EST2024 file, which QuickFacts uses. Confirm the QuickFacts display before citing it as 'QuickFacts'.
- Nonstop destination counts: neither CHS nor SAV states a count on the pages read; do not count list entries as an official number.
- City of Charleston street open-container ordinance (Code Sec. 3-31 on Municode) did not load for us; only the park-rule text is confirmed. Do not state a street rule until the code is read.
- Savannah to-go cup area: 2017 ordinance boundary is confirmed; later expansions (2020 pilot, 2024 proposal to Victory Drive) appear only in news and are not confirmed on savannahga.gov.
- Savannah square count: NPS lesson says 24 squares; an NPS assessment (per unofficial summary only) says 22 survive. Not confirmed on a page.
- Charleston St. Patrick's Day organizer (unofficial summary names the South Carolina Irish Historical Society) not confirmed on an organizer page; 2026 parade time not confirmed (only the 2025 city notice).
- Savannah Belles Ferry: a CAT notice (undated) says City Hall Landing is closed for repairs until further notice; boarding at Waving Girl Landing and the city recreational dock.
- Charleston Water Taxi page lists 'Kids $15' next to the $17 adult pass; the kids price wording is unclear.
- Tybee beach rules (alcohol, glass, dogs) not confirmed on cityoftybee.org; Folly Beach beach alcohol ban seen only in unofficial summary.
Sources
- https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/popest/datasets/2020-2024/cities/totals/sub-est2024.csv
- https://www.nps.gov/places/charleston-sc.htm
- https://www.savannahga.gov/DocumentCenter/View/14276/To-Go-Cup-Ordinance-of-09-28-2017-9
- https://catchacat.org/getting-around/zero-fare/savannah-belles-ferry/
- https://www.charlestonwatertaxi.com/
- Getting There
- Getting There
- Historic Districts
- Historic Districts
- Beaches
- Beaches
- Beaches
- Beaches
- Drinking Rules
- Signature Events
- Signature Events
- Lodging Taxes
Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.
Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “Charleston vs Savannah”, itssouthcarolina.com/destinations/charleston-vs-savannah/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.
