It’s South Carolina
HalloweenHalloween in South Carolina: haunted trails, trunk-or-treats and fall festivals, dated and priced →Halloween Events in South Carolina →
This Week

Destinations › Which Christmas Town

Pick a South Carolina Christmas town by the kind of Christmas you want: a small-town parade, historic homes by candlelight, a big lights display, a market or Christmas on the coast. 17 towns, sorted into 5 kinds from what each town actually puts on. Filter the list, then open the town's own page for the 2026 dates.

  • Towns17on this page
  • Kinds5of Christmas
  • CheckedOct 262026
  • Sources33official pages

Pick by The Christmas You Want

Every Christmas Town, Side by Side

17 of 17
TownRegionWhat happensWhenCostSource
Charleston: candlelight house tours and Holiday Festival of LightsLowcountryHistoric Charleston Foundation runs holiday candlelight tours of the Nathaniel Russell House and the Aiken-Rhett House, Drayton Hall runs candlelight tours of its 18th-century house, and Charleston County Parks runs the Holiday Festival of Lights at James Island County Park with more than 750 illuminated displays.Nathaniel Russell House candlelight tours: Friday, November 20 and Saturday, November 21, 2026. Aiken-Rhett House candlelight tours: Friday, December 4 and Saturday, December 5, 2026. Drayton Hall Candlelight Tours: November 28, 2026. Holiday Festival of Lights: every night from November 13 through December 31, 2026, 5:30-10 p.m. City holiday parade and boat parade: not published for 2026.
HCF tours depart 5:30, 6:00, 6:30 and 7:00 pm each night and last approximately 45 minutes. Holiday Festival of Lights 5:30-10 p.m.
HCF candlelight tours: $45 per person. Holiday Festival of Lights: prices listed per vehicle, set by Green, Yellow and Red nights (amounts not shown in page text); gift passes 1-9 tickets = $25 each, each valid for 1-15 guests per vehicle.source
Wild Lights at Riverbanks Zoo and GardenMidlandsRiverbanks Zoo and Garden holds Wild Lights, a walk through the zoo past over 60 lantern displays, with s'mores, hot chocolate and visits with Santa; the zoo's site also lists Brew Lights, a new 21+ holiday event.Select Nights November 20 – January 10, 5:00-9:00 PM; the page calendar covers November 2026 through January 2027. Tickets go on sale November 2.
5:00 – 9:00 PM
not published yet (tickets go on sale November 2)source
ChristmasVilleMidlandsChristmasVille turns Old Town Rock Hill into a holiday village and outdoor art festival with nearly 70 events, including horse-drawn carriage rides, historic tours, Dickens carolers, a gingerbread house contest, Santa activities and an ice skating rink.December 3-6, 2026 (Thursday, December 3 to Sunday, December 6). Contests run November 1 – December 2.Not listedsource
Bluffton Christmas Parade and Tree LightingLowcountryThe Town of Bluffton holds its 55th annual tree lighting at Martin Family Park, then a Christmas parade through the Historic District the next morning.Friday, December 4, 2026: Tree Lighting 5:30 p.m. Saturday, December 5, 2026: parade steps off 10 a.m.
Tree lighting 5:30 p.m.; movie 6:30 p.m.; parade 10 a.m.
Not listedsource
Walhalla Christmas ParadeUpstateThe City of Walhalla runs an evening Christmas parade judged at the City Green, plus a tree lighting, window contest, Cookies with Santa and a night ride at Stumphouse Mountain Park.Christmas Parade: Saturday, December 5 (2026) at 5 PM, theme 'Christmas Traditions Through the Decades'. Frosty's Night Ride: the city says to come back in December 2026 for the second annual ride (date not published). Tree lighting: not published for 2026.
Parade 5 PM
Not listedsource
Heart of the Holidays, HartsvillePee DeeHartsville holds a three-day Heart of the Holidays celebration with a downtown open house and tree lighting, a Family Jingle Jam, a kids carnival and craft show, and a night Christmas parade in which every unit must be lit.Heart of the Holidays: November 19-21, 2026. Christmas Parade: Saturday, December 5, 2026 at 5:30 PM.
Nov 19 tree lighting 6:00-9:00 PM; Nov 20 Jingle Jam 6:00-9:00 PM; Nov 21 carnival and craft show 10:00 AM-4:00 PM; parade 5:30 PM
Freesource
Christmas in Newberry: Main Street LightsMidlandsThe City of Newberry lights a downtown display of lighted garland, figures and a Community Christmas Tree, starting with the Main Street Lights tree lighting, then North Pole Nights on December Fridays with faux snow in Memorial Park.Begins November 20, 2026 with the Community Christmas Tree Lighting (Friday, November 20, 2026, 5:00-8:00 pm). North Pole Nights: Friday nights, December 4, 11 & 18, 5:00-8:00 pm.
Tree lighting ceremony 6:00 pm; festivities until 8:00 pm
Freesource
Holiday Hop & Christmas MarketUpstateThe City of Travelers Rest holds a downtown Holiday Hop with a Christmas Market along the Swamp Rabbit Trail, a tree lighting with carols, a Jingle Paws dog parade, a train ride and Santa and Mrs. Claus at the Spring Park Inn.Saturday, November 28 – 3:00-7:00 pm (page titled '2026 Holiday Hop & Christmas Market').
Christmas Market 3:00-7:00 pm; Jingle Paws Parade 5:00 pm; tree lighting 6:45 pm
Not listedsource
Summerville Christmas ParadeLowcountrySummerville DREAM runs the Summerville Christmas Parade, a family-friendly parade of decorated cars, trucks, floats and walking groups chosen by committee.Parade: December 13, 2026 (per the 2026 application form). Start time and route not published.Entry fees for participants only (e.g. standard business entry $200, nonprofit $100); spectator price not stated.source
Mount Pleasant Christmas Light ParadeLowcountryThe Town of Mount Pleasant holds its 31st annual night parade down Coleman Boulevard with fireworks, marching bands, a police motorcycle show, lighted floats and Santa on a town fire truck.Dec 13, 2026, 5:30 pm – 8:00 pm
Fireworks 5:30 p.m.; parade runs Live Oak Drive down Coleman Boulevard to Patriots Point Road
Not listedsource
Aiken: Downtown Christmas Parade and Christmas in HopelandsMidlandsAiken's Christmas in Hopelands lights Hopelands Gardens with 100,000+ lights and free cocoa, cider and cookies, and the Aiken Downtown Development Association hosts a downtown Christmas parade; Aiken also has the Hoofbeats Christmas Parade with horses and carriages.2026 Downtown Aiken Christmas Parade: Sunday, December 6th at 2:00PM. Christmas in Hopelands and Hoofbeats parade: not published for 2026 (2025 dates were December 13-23 for Hopelands and December 14 for Hoofbeats).
Hopelands (2025): 6:00 pm – 9:30 pm; no parking or entry after 9:00 PM
Freesource
Christmas in CamdenMidlandsCamden's tourism office lists a city tree lighting at Broad Street Park, the Kershaw County Tinsel Trail of lighted displays, holiday snow nights downtown, the Kershaw County Christmas Parade and the nighttime Lights of Lugoff Christmas Parade.not published for 2026 (the 2025 guide listed the tree lighting Dec 4, Tinsel Trail Nov 26 – Dec 31, Kershaw County Christmas Parade Dec 13 at 10 AM and Lights of Lugoff parade Dec 13 at 6:30 PM)Not listedsource
Christmas in Downtown ConwayGrand StrandThe City of Conway is taking vendors for Christmas 2026 for Santa's Village on the Town Green and a new Lower Laurel Market at 104 Laurel Street with a Christmas train station, aiming for 'a festive, traditional Christmas market experience'.not published for 2026 (Visit Myrtle Beach listed the 2025 Rivertown Christmas Celebration on Thursdays, December 4 – December 18, 2025, 6 to 8 pm, and the 2025 Conway tree lighting on December 4, 2025 at 6 pm, 200 Laurel Street)2025 Rivertown Christmas Celebration: 'All of the events are free.' (2026 not stated)source
City-County Christmas Tree Lighting and Holiday Music & Light ShowPee DeeThe City and County of Florence light the city Christmas tree at Andrew H. Griffin Plaza, followed by the Downtown Development Corporation's Downtown Christmas Magic, and a Holiday Music & Light Show runs nightly through December 31.not published for 2026 (2025: tree lighting Friday, December 5, 2025 at 5:30 pm; light show through December 31st, 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm each evening, weather permitting)Not listedsource
Winter Wonderland at The BeachGrand StrandVisit Myrtle Beach lists Winter Wonderland at The Beach, a free lights display along the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk and downtown, opened by a tree lighting in Plyler Park.not published for 2026 (2025: lights nightly from November 28, 2025 to January 3, 2026; tree lighting November 29, 2025 at 6:15 pm)Described as a free lights display (2025 listing).source
Georgetown Christmas ParadeGrand StrandGeorgetown's Christmas Parade on Front Street features decorated floats, marching bands, community groups, Christmas music and Santa Claus; the 12 Days of Christmas Kringle Krawl follows the same evening on Front Street.Christmas Parade: December 5 (event data shows 2026-12-05), 11:00 am – 1:00 pm, Front Street. Kringle Krawl: December 5, 4:00 pm – 9:00 pm.Not listedsource
Deck the Hulls Christmas Boat ParadeLowcountryAmerica's Boating Club Hilton Head presents Deck the Hulls, a waterfront Christmas boat parade of decorated boats along Skull Creek.not published for 2026 (the organizer page, updated 10/17/2026, still shows the 3rd annual parade on December 14, 2024, 6 – 8 PM)
6 – 8 PM (2024 listing)
Not listedsource

FAQ

Which South Carolina town is best for Christmas?

It depends on what you want. Use the picks above: towns sorted by parade, candlelight homes, lights, markets or the coast, from what each town lists.

Are the 2026 dates confirmed?

8 of 17 towns had posted 2026 dates when we checked on October 26, 2026. The others say not published for 2026.

What We Could Not Confirm

Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.

  • Beaufort (Night on the Town, Light Up the Night lighted boat parade, Christmas parade): no 2026 dates found on cityofbeaufort.org (calendar, news), beaufortsc.org/events/holidays (images only, no text) or downtownbeaufort.com (empty page). explorebeaufortsc.com is a private media site, not used. Beaufort left out of items.
  • Georgetown lighted boat parade on the Sampit River: not on discovergeorgetownsc.com or georgetownsc.gov; only in older Post and Courier unofficial summary. Georgetown is tagged 'small-town parade' because only the Front Street parade is confirmed.
  • Greenville Poinsettia Christmas Parade and Ice on Main: greenvillesc.gov pages load their content by script, so no date or price could be read; visitgreenvillesc.com event URL did not load for us. Greenville left out of items.
  • 2026 dates (Nov. 27, 2026 – Jan. 3, 2027) and prices appear only in a WMBF news report, so not used. Left out of items.
  • City of Charleston Holy City Holiday Parade and Holiday Parade of Boats: only 2025 city notices found (parade December 7, 2025; boats December 13, 2025); 2026 not published.
  • Historic Charleston Foundation 2026 candlelight event pages show 'This event has passed' next to the 2026 dates; likely a page template error, but dates should be rechecked.
  • Drayton Hall Candlelight Tours: page lists November 28, 2026 but no price or times in the page text.
  • Riverbanks Wild Lights 2026 ticket prices: not published (tickets on sale November 2). Riverbanks county left blank (zoo spans the Richland/Lexington area).
  • Rock Hill region left blank (York County does not fit the five-region list cleanly); ChristmasVille prices not shown on the home page.
  • Aiken: Christmas in Hopelands and Hoofbeats Christmas Parade 2026 dates not posted on visitaikensc.com (pages still show 2025). Downtown parade date comes from the organizer's (ADDA) entry form.
  • Summerville: parade date from Summerville DREAM's 2026 entry application (jotform); no start time, route or tree lighting date found on summervillesc.gov or visitsummerville.com.
  • Camden, Florence, Myrtle Beach, Conway: official pages show only 2025 dates; 2026 schedules not yet published.
  • Abbeville, Cheraw: no official holiday pages found (abbevillecitysc.com/christmas 404; cheraw.com has no holiday text). Left out.
  • Hilton Head Deck the Hulls: organizer page shows the 2024 date; hiltonheadisland.org listing for a later edition blocked (403).
  • lat/lon left null for all items: no coordinates given on the source pages.

Sources

  1. Charleston County Parks – Holiday Festival of Lights
  2. Holiday Festival of Lights Tickets
  3. Explore Charleston – HFOL Fun Run & Walk
  4. Historic Charleston Foundation – Nathaniel Russell House candlelight 2026
  5. Historic Charleston Foundation – Aiken-Rhett House candlelight 2026
  6. Drayton Hall – Candlelight Tours
  7. City of Charleston – 2025 Holiday Parade notice
  8. City of Charleston – 2025 Holiday Parade of Boats
  9. Riverbanks – Wild Lights
  10. ChristmasVille Rock Hill
  11. Visit York County – ChristmasVille
  12. Visit Bluffton – 55th Christmas Parade and Tree Lighting
  13. City of Walhalla – Christmas Parade
  14. City of Walhalla – Frosty's Night Ride
  15. Visit Hartsville – Heart of the Holidays 2026
  16. Visit Hartsville – 2026 Christmas Parade
  17. Newberry Christmas
  18. Newberry Christmas – Our Lights
  19. City of Newberry – Christmas in Newberry
  20. Travelers Rest – Holiday Hop & Christmas Market
  21. 2026 Summerville Christmas Parade application
  22. Experience Mount Pleasant (Town of Mount Pleasant) – Christmas Light Parade
  23. 2026 Downtown Aiken Christmas Parade (ADDA)
  24. Visit Aiken – Christmas in Hopelands
  25. Visit Aiken – A Very Aiken Christmas press release
  26. Experience Camden – 2025 Holiday Events
  27. Experience Camden – Christmas in Camden
  28. City of Conway – Santa's Village Vendors Needed
  29. Visit Myrtle Beach – Things to do in December
  30. City of Florence – 32nd City-County Christmas Tree Lighting
  31. Discover Georgetown – Christmas Parade
  32. Discover Georgetown – Kringle Krawl
  33. ABC Hilton Head – Deck the Hulls

Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.

Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “Which South Carolina Christmas Town Should I Pick?”, itssouthcarolina.com/destinations/which-christmas-town/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.