Things to Do › Outdoors and Hiking › Dog-Friendly Hikes
16 South Carolina trails where dogs are welcome on a leash, with the leash length and any no-dog areas the managing agency sets. Rules differ by agency, so read the row for your trail.
- Trails16on this page
- Regions4Upstate, Midlands, Lowcountry…
- Free0as the operator states
- CheckedOct 262026
The Short Answer
- SC State Parks require pets to be crated, caged, on a leash no longer than six feet or otherwise under physical control at all times (SC Code Title 51, Chapter 3, Section 145). source
- Congaree National Park allows pets on all trails, including the boardwalk, on a leash 6 feet long maximum. source
- Table Rock State Park: pets must stay leashed on hiking trails and are not allowed in the lake or on the swim beach. source
Every Trails on Our List
| Name | Where | What | When | Cost | Good to know | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cherry Hill Recreation Area | Walhalla area (SC 107) Upstate | 29-site Forest Service campground north of Walhalla, open April 1 through October 31. | April 1 – October 31; closed for winter. | $15 per site per night. | Dogs: 'Leashed pets are welcome.' | source |
| Jones Gap State Park trails (Rainbow Falls, Jones Gap Trail) | Marietta Upstate | Advanced trails in the Mountain Bridge Wilderness, including the Rainbow Falls hike. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: Leash no longer than six feet (park page, ). | source |
| Kings Mountain National Military Park trails | Blacksburg Upstate | Battlefield Trail (1.5 mi, paved) and longer woods trails at the 1780 battlefield. | Not listed | No fees. | Dogs: Leash not longer than six feet, under physical control; never off leash. | source |
| Oconee State Park trails (Hidden Falls, Lake Trail) | Mountain Rest Upstate | Six trails including the 4.6-mile Hidden Falls out-and-back and the easy 1.2-mile Lake Trail loop. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: Leash not longer than six feet or physical restraint; 'Pets are not to be left unattended.' | source |
| Palmetto Trail: Blue Ridge Electric Co-Op Passage | Pickens Upstate | 12.6-mile Moderate passage from Table Rock State Park into the Jocassee Gorges. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: Allowed, leashed at all times. | source |
| Paris Mountain State Park trails | Greenville Upstate | About 17 miles of trails, from the 0.75-mile Lake Placid loop to the 3.8-mile Sulphur Springs loop. | Not listed | $6 adults; $3.75 SC seniors; $3.50 children 6-15. | Dogs: Leash not longer than six feet or physical restraint in most outdoor areas. | source |
| Raven Cliff Falls and Caesars Head trails | Cleveland Upstate | Advanced wilderness trails including the Raven Cliff Falls hike. | Not listed | Trail access $3 adults. | Dogs: Leash not longer than six feet or physical restraint in most outdoor areas. | source |
| Station Cove Falls Trail | Walhalla Upstate | Easy 0.5-mile hike to a waterfall; also reached by a 1.5-mile nature trail from Oconee Station State Historic Site. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: Forest Service: 'leashed pets welcome.' State historic site: leash no longer than six feet. | source |
| Swamp Rabbit Trail | Greenville / Travelers Rest / Fountain Inn Upstate | Greenville County's '32 mile and growing' trail network. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: County page: keep dogs on a short leash and clean up after them. | source |
| Table Rock State Park trails | Pickens Upstate | Table Rock (3.6 mi one way), Pinnacle Mountain (4.2 mi one way), Carrick Creek (2-mile loop) and Lakeside (1.9-mile loop). | Not listed | $6 adults; $3.75 SC seniors; $3.50 children 6-15. | Dogs: 'All pets must remain leashed while in the park; this includes any pets on hiking trails.' 6-ft maximum leash. | source |
| Yellow Branch Falls Trail | Walhalla Upstate | Moderate 1.5-mile (one way) trail to a 50-foot cascade. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: 'Leashed pets are welcome.' Leash length not stated. | source |
| Congaree National Park Boardwalk and trails | Hopkins Midlands | Pets are welcome on all Congaree trails, including the 2.6-mile boardwalk, and in the campgrounds. | Not listed | No entrance fee. | Dogs: Leash 6 feet long maximum, under control at all times; never left unattended; bag waste (bags outside the visitor center). | source |
| Palmetto Trail: Fort Jackson Passage | Columbia (Fort Jackson) Midlands | 16.2-mile Moderate passage through the Army's largest basic training center. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: Pets: Yes. Access: Fort Jackson allows pedestrian traffic at its discretion; ID usually required at the Fort Jackson Boulevard entrance; online Visitor Pass application. | source |
| Hunting Island State Park trails | Hunting Island Lowcountry | Maritime forest, lagoon and marsh boardwalk trails. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: Leash no longer than six feet elsewhere. | source |
| Palmetto Trail: Awendaw Passage | Awendaw Lowcountry | 7.1-mile Easy passage from Buck Hall Recreation Area along Awendaw Creek. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: Pets: Yes. Access: On hunting grounds. | source |
| Huntington Beach State Park (south beach and trails) | Murrells Inlet Grand Strand | State park the page calls 'dog friendly year round'. | Not listed | Not listed | Dogs: Leash no longer than six feet at all times; clean up after your pet. | source |
No rows match.
Hours, dates and prices are copied from each operator’s own page on the date shown; check before you go.
Where Dogs Are Not Allowed
- Myrtle Beach State Park: pets are not allowed on the beaches from 10am until 5pm May 1 through Labor Day (Horry County ordinance on all public beaches). source
- Aiken State Park: dogs are prohibited in and around the swimming area. source
- Paris Mountain State Park: no dogs in the roped-off swimming area. source
- Kings Mountain National Military Park: pets are not permitted in the visitor center except service animals. source
- Eagle Mountain Winery (Travelers Rest): 'Pets and bikes are not allowed on the property.' source
Pet-Friendly State Park Cabins
- Pets allowed only in listed units, e.g. Devils Fork Villas 1-5, Oconee Cabins 14-20, Table Rock Cabins 4, 9, 10 and 11, Barnwell Cabin 2. source
FAQ
How long can my dog's leash be in a South Carolina state park?
No longer than six feet, or the pet must be under physical restraint. source
Are dogs allowed on the Congaree boardwalk?
Yes, on a leash 6 feet maximum; pets may not be left unattended. source
Can I bring my dog to Myrtle Beach State Park's beach in summer?
Not from 10am to 5pm, May 1 through Labor Day, under a Horry County ordinance; other outdoor areas allow leashed pets year round. source
What We Could Not Confirm
Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.
- Palmetto Trail passage pages give 'Pets: Yes' without a leash length for some passages; Lake Marion and Swamp Fox passage pet fields conflict with their alerts and were left out.
- Sassafras Mountain: SCDNR says pets must be on a leash; length not stated.
- Forest Service pages say 'leashed pets welcome' without a length.
- Swamp Rabbit Trail dog rule and length come in our earlier park check; our fetch rendered no content.
Sources
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): rules regulations
- National Park Service: cong > planyourvisit > pets.htm
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): table rock > things to do
- National Park Service: kimo > planyourvisit > pets.htm
- National Park Service: kimo > planyourvisit > walking hiking trails.htm
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): table rock
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): paris mountain > trails
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): paris mountain > things to do
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): caesars head
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): caesars head > trails
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): jones gap
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): oconee > trails
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): oconee > things to do
- USDA Forest Service: r08 > francismarionsumter > recreation > yellow branch falls
- USDA Forest Service: r08 > francismarionsumter > recreation > station cove falls
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): oconee station
- USDA Forest Service: r08 > francismarionsumter > recreation > cherry hill recreation area
- Palmetto Conservation / The Palmetto Trails: trails > trail > blue ridge electric co op passage
- Palmetto Conservation / The Palmetto Trails: trails > trail > fort jackson passage
- Palmetto Conservation / The Palmetto Trails: trails > trail > awendaw passage
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): huntington beach
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): hunting island
- Greenville County Parks, Recreation & Tourism: swamprabbit
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): myrtle beach
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): aiken > things to do
- eaglemountainwinery.com
- SC State Parks (SCPRT): faqs
Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.
Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “Dog-Friendly Hikes in South Carolina”, itssouthcarolina.com/things-to-do/outdoors-and-hiking/dog-friendly-hikes-in-south-carolina/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.
