Things to Do › Outdoors and Hiking › Waterfalls
South Carolina has 16 waterfalls on this list, most in the Upstate's Blue Ridge foothills. Access, fees and dog rules are copied from the park, forest or city that manages each one.
- Waterfalls16each with a manager
- Managers9parks, forest, cities
- With Fees Noted16as published
- CheckedOct 262026
Waterfalls
Raven Cliff Falls
SC State Parks (Caesars Head State Park) – Cleveland (park address 8155 Geer Hwy, Cleveland, SC 29635) source
- Access
- Page lists a 'four-mile, round trip' trail to the overlook with a view of the 420-foot falls; a suspension bridge hike is listed as '6.6 mile round trip'. Difficulty for these two hikes is not given; 'All trails on park are rated as advanced.' Visit Greenville lists 4.4 mi round trip (3 hrs) or 6.6 mi with Dismal Trail Loop (5 hrs); Discover SC lists a 2-mile hike one way to a viewing platform, moderate. Published figures differ.
- Fees
- Park trail access: $3 adults; $1.50 SC seniors; $1 children 6-15; 5 and under free.
- Dogs
- Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet or under physical restraint.
- Parking
- Limited, first-come first-served; day-use parking reservations not taken; no roadside or highway parking, walk-ins not allowed.
- Season
- Trails close one hour before sunset year-round. Park hours 9 AM to 6 PM daily, extended to sunset during Daylight Saving Time. The lot often fills on weekends in October-November; page recommends weekdays.
Rainbow Falls
SC State Parks (Jones Gap State Park) – Marietta (park address 303 Jones Gap Rd, Marietta, SC 29661) source
- Access
- Park manager describes 'a 2.2-mile hike with a 1,200-foot climb to the base of the falls', which has a 120-foot waterwall. Page says all trails, regardless of rating, are advanced hiking trails. Hikers fill out a registration card at the trailhead. (Discover SC article lists 2.3 miles one way, 125-foot falls, 'relatively strenuous'; Visit Greenville lists 5 mi round trip, 3 hrs. Figures differ by source.)
- Fees
- $6 adults; $3.75 SC seniors (65 and older); $3.50 children 6-15; 5 and under free.
- Dogs
- Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet or under physical restraint.
- Parking
- Very limited; first-come first-served otherwise; no roadside parking. Heavy visitation expected in October and November.
- Season
- Park 9AM to sunset daily; trails close one hour before sunset (page also says one hour before dark). Weekends and holidays 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. need a parking reservation for guaranteed entry. No phone service, no Wi-Fi at the park.
Jones Gap Falls
SC State Parks (Jones Gap State Park) – Marietta source
- Access
- Discover SC article: 1-mile hike one way, moderate. Visit Greenville: 2.6 mi round trip (1.5 hrs).
- Fees
- State park entry fee (see Rainbow Falls entry: $6 adults, $3.75 SC seniors, $3.50 ages 6-15, 5 and under free).
- Dogs
- Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet (park page).
- Parking
- Designated parking area, limited spots, reservation may be needed (Visit Greenville).
- Season
- Trails close one hour before sunset (park page).
Wildcat Wayside Falls (Lower, Middle, Upper Wildcat Falls)
Not stated on the pages read (Discover SC places it in the Mountain Bridge Wilderness Area; State Parks page says 'between Caesars Head and Jones Gap') – Cleveland (about 24 mi from Downtown Greenville per Visit Greenville) source
- County
- Greenville County (listed by Visit Greenville as a Greenville County waterfall)
- Access
- Lower falls: no hiking, easy pull-off on the right side of Cherokee Foothills Scenic Hwy (SC 11). Middle falls: 0.2 mi round trip (10 min), trail starts at wooden steps left of lower falls. Upper falls: 0.8 mi round trip (45 min); only the base is accessible, the top trail is closed.
- Fees
- Not listed
- Parking
- Pull-off on SC 11
Carrick Creek Falls
SC State Parks (Table Rock State Park) – Pickens (park address 158 Ellison Ln, Pickens, SC 29671) source
- Access
- Discover SC: viewing platform steps from the Table Rock Trailhead, 15-foot cascade, easy. Park page: construction on a Carrick Creek Falls access improvement project began 7-27-2026; Nature Center and trailhead restrooms closed until the Nature Center deck and falls access project are complete. Hikers follow arrows through the lots to the Concessions Area to register and reach the temporary trail access point.
- Fees
- $6 adults; $3.75 SC seniors; $3.50 children 6-15; 5 and under free.
- Dogs
- Pets must stay leashed in the park, including on hiking trails (leash no longer than six feet).
- Parking
- Capacity not published
- Season
- Construction/temporary access in place as of the page read 2026-10-26. Park hours Su-Th 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., extended to 9 p.m. Fri and Sat (Daylight Saving Time: to 9 p.m., Fri/Sat 10 p.m.).
Issaqueena Falls
Stumphouse Park (City of Walhalla per Visit Oconee listing; visitor center at 224 E Main St, Walhalla) – Walhalla source
- County
- Oconee County (Visit Oconee page)
- Access
- 'an easy 1/4 mile walk from the parking lot to an observation deck.' The path from the deck to the bottom of the falls is 'quite dangerous and visitors are not encouraged to take it.' Page also lists the 2.5-mile Blue Ridge Railroad hiking trail.
- Fees
- 'Park Entrance Fee is $5 per vehicle.'
- Dogs
- Not mentioned on page
- Parking
- Issaqueena Falls parking lot, a second lot farther from the tunnel, and a no-fee lot across Hwy 28 for Yellow Branch Falls
- Season
- Park hours not listed on the page (visitor center Tue-Fri 9AM-5PM, Sat 10AM-2PM)
Yellow Branch Falls
USDA Forest Service, Andrew Pickens Ranger District, Francis Marion and Sumter National Forests – Walhalla (directions from Walhalla) source
- Fees
- Not listed
- Dogs
- 'Leashed pets are welcome.'
- Parking
- Lot at the trailhead plus an overflow lot up the hill
- Season
- Site shown 'Site Open', no closures listed; page last updated Dec 30, 2025. Wet conditions slippery; falls may be a trickle in dry spells; no cell service at parking area.
Station Cove Falls
USDA Forest Service, Andrew Pickens Ranger District (trail also reached from Oconee Station State Historic Site, SC State Parks) – Walhalla source
- Access
- 'The 0.5-mile hike begins behind the bulletin board.' 'An easy, 30-minute hike.' State Parks page: falls are the endpoint of a 1.5-mile nature trail from Oconee Station. From SC 11 and SC 183 go 1.5 miles north on SC 11, left on Oconee Station Road (County S-95), 2.4 miles to trailhead on left.
- Fees
- Forest Service page: not listed. Oconee Station State Historic Site: 'Free admission. Donations are appreciated.'
- Dogs
- Forest Service: 'leashed pets welcome.' State Parks: pets on a leash no longer than six feet.
- Parking
- '4 car max.'
- Season
- Seasons of use 'All year', 'Site Open'. 'Waterfalls can be very dangerous!' Oconee Station grounds open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily.
Hidden Falls
Trail starts in SC State Parks' Oconee State Park; Discover SC lists the falls in Sumter National Forest – Mountain Rest (Oconee State Park address 624 State Park Rd, Mountain Rest, SC 29664) source
- Access
- Hidden Falls Trail: 4.6 miles out and back, moderate (park trail page). Discover SC: about 1 hour of hiking on the Foothills Trail from the Oconee State Park trailhead, 60-foot falls.
- Fees
- Oconee State Park admission: $5 adults; $3.25 SC seniors; $3 children 6-15; 5 and under free.
- Dogs
- Park: leash no longer than six feet; page does not address dogs on specific trails.
- Season
- Park hours Su-Th 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Fri-Sat to 9 p.m.; 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily during Daylight Saving Time.
Spoonauger Falls
USDA Forest Service, Andrew Pickens Ranger District – Walhalla (directions from Walhalla) source
- Access
- 0.25 miles from the Chattooga River Trailhead to the Spoonauger Falls Trail sign (easy), 0.1 mile to the first switchback (easy), then a 0.1-mile climb to the base (moderate). No total length published. Elevation 2,175 feet at the base.
- Fees
- Not listed
- Dogs
- 'Leashed pets are welcome.'
- Parking
- Minimal parking along Burrell's Ford Road, more at the Burrell's Ford parking lot
- Season
- Open all year; no closure listed.
King Creek Falls
USDA Forest Service, Andrew Pickens Ranger District – Walhalla (directions from Walhalla) source
- Access
- Option 1: Burrells Ford Trail 0.3 miles (easy), King Creek Falls Trail 0.2 miles to Foothills Trail (easy), 0.1 miles shared, final 0.3-mile climb (moderate). Option 2: Foothills Trail 0.4 miles (moderate), 0.1 shared, final 0.3-mile climb (moderate). Elevation about 2,200 feet. Do not climb the rocks around the falls.
- Parking
- Left at the end of Burrells Ford Road; more about 0.3 miles down the road
- Season
- All year; no closure listed; page last updated Dec 31, 2025. Dispersed camping must be 50 ft from trail and stream and 0.25 mile from road.
Lower Whitewater Falls (South Carolina) / Whitewater Falls Overlook (North Carolina Side)
USDA Forest Service, Nantahala Ranger District, National Forests in North Carolina (the developed overlook is in NC; the page says Lower Whitewater Falls in SC drops about 400 feet farther than the 411-foot Upper Falls) – Cashiers, NC (directions from Cashiers) source
- Access
- Trails listed: Whitewater Falls Trail and Whitewater River Trail. From Cashiers take NC 107 South about 10 miles to the NC-SC line, drive 1 more mile, take the first road on the left. Foothills Trail Conference page: Whitewater Falls parking fee $2 per day (older/other source; differs from Forest Service).
- Fees
- Forest Service: $3 per vehicle per day; $15 annual pass (also works at Dry Falls and Whiteside Mountain).
- Dogs
- Page does not say
- Parking
- Not detailed
- Season
- Open year-round, dawn to dusk; very busy midday and holidays. An active alert 'Whitewater Falls Recreation Area Prohibitions' was listed (contents not given).
Laurel Fork Falls (Lake Jocassee, Boat Access)
SC State Parks (Devils Fork State Park provides the public lake access) – Salem (Devils Fork State Park address 161 Holcombe Cir, Salem, SC 29676) source
- Access
- State Parks page: 'accessible by boat from Devils Fork State Park'. Discover SC: boat on Lake Jocassee, or an 8-mile hike on the Foothills Trail. Park rents canoes, kayaks, pontoons and SUPs (Eclectic Sun). Park page recommends a lake tour for the waterfalls but gives no operator or price.
- Fees
- Devils Fork admission $8 adults; $5 SC seniors; $4 children 6-15; 5 and under free; admission free every Tuesday. Boaters pay daily admission to launch, use a rental boat or take a private lake tour.
- Dogs
- Pets allowed in most outdoor areas on a leash no longer than six feet; pet-friendly Villas 1-5 only.
- Season
- Park hours late spring to mid-fall 7am-9pm; late fall to mid-spring 7am-6pm. Lake levels change often.
Reedy River Falls (Falls Park on The Reedy)
City of Greenville (park); hours not confirmed on a official page – Downtown Greenville source
- County
- Greenville County (Visit Greenville)
- Access
- Visit Greenville: walk in at S. Main St. and Falls Park Dr.; no hiking. City park tour (unofficial summary, not read) mentions the Liberty Bridge; not used.
- Fees
- Not listed on page
- Season
- Hours not published on pages read
Ramsey Falls at Chau Ram County Park
Oconee County Parks – Westminster area (address not published on the page read) source
- County
- Oconee County
- Access
- 40-foot waterfall where Ramsey Creek meets the Chauga River, 'cascades over large boulders'; many attractions wheelchair-accessible and near parking.
- Fees
- 'A $5 entry fee covers an entire carload.' Annual passes $25 Oconee County residents, $50 non-residents, free for Oconee County seniors 62+.
- Dogs
- Not mentioned
- Parking
- 60 parking spaces
- Season
- Hours not published on the page
Horseshoe Falls (Musgrove Mill State Historic Site)
SC State Parks – Clinton (398 State Park Road, Clinton, SC 29325) source
- Access
- Falls have an overlook reachable by a paved trail; park has 2.5 miles of interpretive trails in total; trail length to the falls not published.
- Fees
- $3 adults; $1.50 SC seniors; $1 children 6-15; 5 and younger free.
- Dogs
- Pets on a leash no longer than six feet or under physical restraint.
- Season
- Horseshoe Falls area 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.
FAQ
Which South Carolina waterfalls are easiest to reach?
Raven Cliff Falls, Horseshoe Falls (Musgrove Mill State Historic Site) are described by their managers as roadside, overlook or short walks.
What We Could Not Confirm
Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.
- Falls Park on the Reedy (Greenville): hours, fees, parking and dog rules not found on any official page (greenvillesc.gov pages had no usable text; visitgreenvillesc.com listing gave only visitor-center hours). The 7 a.m.-9 p.m. figure and free 2-hour street parking appeared only in unofficial summary of third-party sites and were not used.
- Twin Falls (Pickens County / Eastatoe), Falls Creek Falls, Big Bradley Falls, Poinsett Bridge, Long Creek Falls, Wildcat Branch trail beyond Visit Greenville: no read official page; left out.
- Waterfall county names were included only where a page states them (Wildcat Wayside, Reedy River Falls, Issaqueena, Chau Ram); the rest are null.
- Coordinates: only Whitewater Falls (Forest Service page) prints coordinates; SC State Parks pages give street addresses only.
- Jones Gap Trail length not printed on the park page; Jones Gap trails sub-page did not load for us. Caesars Head trails page lists no per-trail lengths. Table Rock page lists trail lengths on /table-rock/trails only.
- Lake Keowee and Lake Murray paddling access: DNR Keowee regulations page covers fishing rules only; no official access list read.
- Hunting Island lagoon kayaking: page says only that paddling is available and fishing in the lagoon is allowed; no lagoon paddling rules.
- Spanish Moss Trail total length and dog rules: not on pages read (Beaufort County news release and spanishmosstrail.com). unofficial summary quoted about 10 built miles / 16 planned, from a county plan not read.
- Swamp Rabbit Trail: county page says 32 miles; City of Greenville page returned no length. Other sources quoted 25-28 miles; not used.
- Cowpens National Battlefield trails: NPS hiking URL did not load for us; left out.
- Free fishing days: no statement found on dnr.sc.gov licensing, general license or purchase pages.
- Hunting note: the WMA regulation page does not say whether it applies to hikers on all WMA lands, only to 'all users' during deer season on WMA land; check the specific WMA page.
- Sea turtle penalty amounts: the SCDNR page lists none; the May 1-Oct 31 exact dates and $25,000 penalty appeared only in an unofficial summary and were not used.
- Fall color: no official page states a peak window for the Upstate specifically; the only timing statements are statewide (mid-October to early November) and 'mountains in mid to late October'.
- Conflicts left visible: Edisto trail length (23 / 56 / 62 miles by source and portion), Raven Cliff Falls hike length (2 mi one way / 4 mi / 4.4 mi / 6.6 mi), Rainbow Falls (2.2 vs 2.3 miles one way vs 5 mi round trip), Whitewater Falls parking fee ($3 Forest Service vs $2 Foothills Trail Conference), Devils Fork boat ramps (three vs four).
- Palmetto Trail: number of passages not stated; home page says 416 miles completed while the about page gives no completed mileage; palmettotrail.org/trails list did not load.
Sources
- Raven Cliff Falls
- Rainbow Falls
- Jones Gap Falls
- Wildcat Wayside Falls (Lower, Middle, Upper Wildcat Falls)
- Carrick Creek Falls
- Issaqueena Falls
- Yellow Branch Falls
- Station Cove Falls
- Hidden Falls
- Spoonauger Falls
- King Creek Falls
- Lower Whitewater Falls (South Carolina) / Whitewater Falls overlook (North Carolina side)
- Laurel Fork Falls (Lake Jocassee, boat access)
- Ramsey Falls at Chau Ram County Park
- Horseshoe Falls (Musgrove Mill State Historic Site)
Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.
Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “South Carolina Waterfalls”, itssouthcarolina.com/things-to-do/outdoors-and-hiking/south-carolina-waterfalls/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.
