It’s South Carolina
HalloweenHalloween in South Carolina: haunted trails, trunk-or-treats and fall festivals, dated and priced →Halloween Events in South Carolina →
This Week
Aerial view of tidal creeks and salt marsh meeting a long beach with houses along the dunes

Destinations › Pee Dee › Pawleys Island

Pawleys Island is in Georgetown County, in South Carolina's Pee Dee, with about 134 residents (2024 Census estimate). Pawleys Island is a barrier island less than 4 miles long and mostly one house wide, separated from the mainland by a salt marsh and reached by two short causeways.

  • Population134Census estimate, July 2024
  • CountyGeorgetown CountyPee Dee region
  • Our Guides Nearby10parks, attractions, venues within 25 mi
  • Things to Do9 pickshours, costs, kids, dogs

About Pawleys Island

  • Pawleys Island is a barrier island less than 4 miles long and mostly one house wide, separated from the mainland by a salt marsh and reached by two short causeways. source
  • Rice planters first settled the island in the early 1700s; the town page says twelve residences from the late 1700s to mid-1800s remain in the historic district. source
  • The Town of Pawleys Island government was incorporated in 1985, per the town's About page. source
  • The town sits about 70 miles north of Charleston and 25 miles south of Myrtle Beach, per the town's home page. source
  • The Hammock Coast tourism site says Pawleys Island is the birthplace of the Pawleys Island rope hammock, created in the late 1800s, and that the island has no grocery stores, gas stations or hotels apart from the Sea View Inn and the Pelican Inn. source

Areas Visitors Use

  • Pawleys Island (the island) A historic residential barrier island with nine public beach accesses; the Springs Avenue lot at the south end is the largest free public beach lot in Georgetown County per the town. source
  • Hammock Shops Village A shopping and dining village with 21+ shops, two restaurants, a playground, gazebo and fountain; The Original Hammock Shop has handcrafted rope hammocks since 1938 per the village site. source
  • Litchfield Beach The tourism site describes a quiet beach near local shopping and dining, with golf on the Hammock Coast Golf Trail. source
  • Murrells Inlet / Huntington Beach (north neighbors) Brookgreen Gardens and Huntington Beach State Park are in the Murrells Inlet address area just north of the island. source

Getting There and Around

  • From Myrtle Beach take the Route 17 bypass south to Pawleys Island, turn left at the light and cross the marsh to the island, about 1/2 mile. From Georgetown take Route 17 to the Pawleys Island sign and bear right over the marsh. source
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (MYR) is described on the Hammock Coast site as just a few miles north of Georgetown County; Charleston International is about 75 miles from the Hammock Coast. source
  • Two causeways and two marsh bridges provide access to the island, and there are three boat launch ramps on the island. source
  • Motorized vehicles, including golf carts and electric bikes, are not allowed on the beach. The town has a Golf Cart Restrictions page. source
  • The town speed limit is 25 mph. source

Visitor center: Georgetown County Chamber of Commerce Visitor Center. 28 Wall St, Pawleys Island, SC 29585; Monday through Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm; 843-546-8436 source

Parking in Pawleys Island

WhereRateNotesSource
Georgetown County lot, south end of Springs AvenueFreeThe town calls it the largest free public beach access lot in Georgetown County.source
Other eight public access points (First Street, Davis Drive, Second Street, Pearce Street, Third Street, Shell Road, Hazard Street, Pritchard Street)No fees listedAbout 141 combined parking spaces including handicap parking. Street parking allowed in designated areas within 500 feet of a public beach access; park within five feet of the pavement edge unless posted; no vehicles on the pavement in the right of way. No parking in public beach accesses 11 PM to 6 AM. Parking is strictly enforced.source

Beaches in Pawleys Island

BeachAccess and parkingDogsLifeguardsSource
Pawleys Island BeachNine public accesses: Georgetown County lot (south end of Springs Avenue, free), First Street, Davis Drive, Second Street, Pearce Street, Third Street, Shell Road, Hazard Street, Pritchard Street. Handicap mat at the First Street access (tourism FAQ). All accesses have trash receptacles, dog waste bags and rule signs. Parking is free.Town: dogs are allowed on the beach year round; owners must carry a leash and keep dogs under voice control and pick up. From May 1 through September 30, between 8:00 AM and 8:00 PM, dogs must be leashed and under complete control, including in the water.No lifeguards are on duty at any time; swim at your own risk; life rings at accesses; call 911 for a swimmer in distress.source
Beach rules (Hammock Coast summary)No tents or umbrellas left overnight; no camping or sleeping on the beach; fill holes (sea turtles); no fireworks; open flames and free-standing barbecues prohibited (permit for a charcoal fire pit dug into the sand available at Town Hall); motorized vehicles prohibited on beaches and dunes; surfing not allowed between sunset and sunrise.source
Huntington Beach State Park beachAbout 3 miles of beach; arrive outside 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. on busy days.Dogs allowed on the south end of the beach only, leashed; not on the north end (north parking lot beach access to the jetty).source

Comparing beaches? See which South Carolina beach to pick.

Dogs

  • Dogs are allowed on the Pawleys Island beach year round; leash required May 1 – September 30, 8 AM to 8 PM; at other times owners must carry a leash and have the dog under voice control. source
  • Town ordinance 2018-14 defines a dog as under physical restraint when held by a leash not exceeding 20 feet (an unofficial summary of the ordinance; PDF not read) (not confirmed on the official page). source

When to Go

  • The Atlantic hurricane season runs from June 1 to November 30; the peak is September 10, with most activity between mid-August and mid-October. source
  • Dogs must be leashed on the beach May 1 through September 30, 8 AM to 8 PM. source
  • The Hammock Coast site says Pawleys Island was ranked #1 best beach in South Carolina in USA Today's 2026 10Best readers' choice (with Huntington Beach State Park #4 and Litchfield Beach #6). source
  • Huntington Beach State Park says Oyster Shell Landing and North End Road may close due to King Tide expected 10/24/26 through 11/2/26. source

Things to Do in Pawleys Island

9 picks from the town’s and operators’ own pages.

Historic Sites

Parks

  • Huntington Beach State Park

    A state park with about 3 miles of beach, Atalaya (a National Historic Landmark, former winter home of Archer and Anna Hyatt Huntington), a causeway for wildlife watching, and a campground. source Official site

    Hours
    Park 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily, extended to 9 p.m. during Daylight Saving Time; Atalaya 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., extended to 5 p.m. during DST
    Cost
    Park $8 per adult; $5 S.C. seniors; $4 youth 6-15; free 5 and younger. Atalaya $2 per person ages 6 and up
    Where
    16148 Ocean Hwy, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
    Kids
    Free for children 5 and younger
    Dogs
    Welcome year-round on a leash no longer than six feet; south end of the beach only; not in buildings including Atalaya or on the north end of the beach
  • Waccamaw National Wildlife Refuge

    Hiking along the Great Pee Dee River and Bull Creek, boating, fishing and wildlife observation; camping and fires are prohibited; pets must be leashed. source

    Hours
    Not listed
    Where
    21424 N. Fraser Street (U.S. Highway 701), Georgetown
    Dogs
    All pets on a leash

Gardens

  • Brookgreen Gardens

    Life-sized sculptures by Anna Huntington and other artists across a 9,100-acre property, plus a zoo of native animals. source Official site

    Hours
    Open daily 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. (per the Hammock Coast page; winter-season notes on it may be dated)
    Cost
    Seven-day tickets: seniors 65+ $20, adults 13-64 $22, children 4-12 $12, free 3 and under (Hammock Coast page; confirm on brookgreen.org)
    Where
    1931 Brookgreen Drive, Murrells Inlet
    Kids
    Children 4-12 $12; 3 and under free
    Dogs
    Pets are not allowed; service animals welcome

Beaches

  • Pawleys Island Beach

    Free

    Public beach with nine public accesses; surfing allowed except within 100 yards of the pier; the tourism site notes shelling, crabbing, fishing, biking, canoeing and kayaking on the island. source

    Cost
    Free parking (county lot)
    Where
    Public accesses on First Street through Pritchard Street; county lot at Springs Avenue
    Dogs
    Allowed year round; leash required May 1 – Sept 30, 8 AM-8 PM

Tours

  • Hobcaw Barony

    A 16,000-acre preserve north of Georgetown; access only by guided tours and programs; the Discover Hobcaw Barony tour is two hours. source

    Hours
    Discovery Center 9:00 am to 5:00 pm (snapshot)
    Cost
    Hammock Coast page: most tours are $20 per person (operator page lists no standard price)
    Where
    22 Hobcaw Road, Georgetown, SC 29440
    Dogs
    Not stated
  • Sandy Island Tours

    Boat tours of Sandy Island by reservation, about two and a half hours each; the island is only accessible by boat. source

    Hours
    Year-round by reservation
    Cost
    Adults $35; seniors $32.90; military $31.50; children 8-16 $20; children 7 and under $10 (standard rates; winter Saturday/Monday higher)
    Kids
    Child rates listed

Markets

  • Hammock Shops Village

    A shopping and dining village with 21+ shops, two restaurants (Local and BisQit), and a pet boutique; The Original Hammock Shop is listed as handcrafting rope hammocks since 1938. source

    Hours
    Monday-Saturday 10:00 AM-5:00 PM; Sunday 1:00 PM-5:00 PM
    Where
    Pawleys Island, SC (street address not on page read)
    Kids
    Playground
    Dogs
    Policy not stated

Coming Up in and Near Pawleys Island

Events within 15 miles, measured in a straight line to the centre of the event's town. Dates come from our checked events list; confirm with the organizer.

Near Pawleys Island

Around Pawleys Island within 25 miles
10 mi20 mi25 miNSEW12345678910
  1. 1Brookgreen Gardenssculpture garden, zoo and nature preserveabout 6 mi
  2. 2Huntington Beach State ParkState Parkabout 7 mi
  3. 3Ramsey Grove State ParkState Parkabout 10 mi
  4. 4The Rice Museumhistory museumabout 10 mi
  5. 5Myrtle Beach State ParkState Parkabout 19 mi
  6. 6Myrtle Beach Boardwalk and Promenadeoceanfront boardwalkabout 23 mi
  7. 7Myrtle Beach Convention Centerconvention centerabout 24 mi
  8. 8Hampton Plantation State Historic SiteState Historic Siteabout 24 mi
  9. 9Pelicans Ballparkballparkabout 24 mi
  10. 10Ripley's Aquarium of Myrtle Beachaquariumabout 25 mi

Straight-line distances between map points, not driving miles. Dots sit in their true compass direction; distance is stretched near the middle so close neighbors stay readable.

Nearby Towns With Their Own Guide

FAQ

Is parking at Pawleys Island beach free?

The town describes the county lot at Springs Avenue as free and lists no fees at the other eight public accesses. No parking in public beach accesses 11 PM to 6 AM. source

Are dogs allowed on the beach?

Yes, year round. From May 1 through September 30, 8 AM to 8 PM they must be leashed; other times, carry a leash and keep the dog under voice control. source

Are there lifeguards?

No. The town says the beaches are not patrolled by lifeguards at any time. source

How many public beach accesses are there?

Nine: the county lot at Springs Avenue plus eight street accesses (First, Davis, Second, Pearce, Third, Shell Road, Hazard, Pritchard). source

Where is the visitor center?

28 Wall St, Pawleys Island, Monday through Friday 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, phone 843-546-8436. source

Is there shopping with hammocks?

Hammock Shops Village lists The Original Hammock Shop (rope hammocks handcrafted since 1938) and 20+ other shops; open Monday-Saturday 10-5, Sunday 1-5. source

How many people live in Pawleys Island?

About 134, the U.S. Census Bureau’s estimate for July 1, 2024 (Census table).

What We Could Not Confirm

Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.

  • pawleysisland.com is run by EVOQ Group (marketing company) and was NOT used as a source; onlypawleys.com is operated by the Georgetown County Chamber of Commerce.
  • An unofficial summary mentioned a county page giving dogs-leashed 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; the town's own pages say 8 a.m.-8 p.m. (used). County page not read (connection reset) (not confirmed on the official page).
  • Hammock Shops Village street address not on the page read.
  • Brookgreen Gardens hours/prices came from the Hammock Coast tourism page which carries older seasonal notes; brookgreen.org returned 403. Confirm before publishing.
  • Pawleys Island Nature Park (near Town Hall) not confirmed on an official page.
  • Pawleys Island has no town-run visitor center; the chamber center is on Wall Street.
  • Fines for dog violations not stated on the town pages.
  • Whether the historic district can be toured was not stated.

Sources

  1. U.S. Census Bureau, city and town population estimates, Vintage 2024
  2. Town of Pawleys Island – home
  3. Town of Pawleys Island – About
  4. Town of Pawleys Island – Beach Access & Parking
  5. Town of Pawleys Island – Dogs on the Beach
  6. Town of Pawleys Island – Beach Rules
  7. Town of Pawleys Island – Swimmer Safety
  8. Town of Pawleys Island – Directions
  9. Town of Pawleys Island – Historic Homes
  10. Only Pawleys (Georgetown County Chamber of Commerce)
  11. Only Pawleys – About
  12. Only Pawleys – FAQ
  13. Hammock Coast SC Tourism
  14. Hammock Coast – Historic Pawleys Island
  15. Hammock Coast – Beaches
  16. Hammock Coast – Getting Here
  17. Hammock Coast – Brookgreen Gardens
  18. Hammock Coast – Sandy Island
  19. Hammock Coast – Waccamaw NWR
  20. Hammock Shops Village
  21. Huntington Beach State Park (SC PRT)
  22. Hobcaw Barony
  23. NOAA National Hurricane Center climatology

Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.

Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “Pawleys Island, SC Travel Guide”, itssouthcarolina.com/destinations/pee-dee/pawleys-island/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.