It’s South Carolina
HalloweenHalloween in South Carolina: haunted trails, trunk-or-treats and fall festivals, dated and priced →Halloween Events in South Carolina →
This Week
Golf green with a timber retaining wall beside a reflective marsh lake at sunset, clubhouse in the distance

Destinations › Lowcountry › Kiawah Island

Kiawah Island is in Charleston County, in South Carolina's Lowcountry, with about 2,003 residents (2024 Census estimate). Kiawah Island is about 25 miles southwest of Charleston (the visitor bureau's beaches page says 27 miles from downtown and 34 miles from the airport) and has about 10 miles of beach.

  • Population2,003Census estimate, July 2024
  • CountyCharleston CountyLowcountry region
  • Our Guides Nearby23parks, attractions, venues within 25 mi
  • Things to Do8 pickshours, costs, kids, dogs

Plan It in Three Lines

  1. Where to Park

    Kiawah Beachwalker Park (8 Beachwalker Drive): Standard vehicles pay seasonal rates, higher on weekends May through Labor Day; RVs and campers $40 daily; buses and large vehicles $75; walk-ins and bicyclists enter free; Gold Pass members park free (dollar amounts for standard vehicles not confirmed on a read page)

    All parking below
  2. What's On

    Dated events in and around Kiawah Island, checked on organizer pages.

    Events page

About Kiawah Island

  • Kiawah Island is about 25 miles southwest of Charleston (the visitor bureau's beaches page says 27 miles from downtown and 34 miles from the airport) and has about 10 miles of beach. source
  • Beachwalker County Park, on the west end at 8 Beachwalker Drive and run by Charleston County Park & Recreation Commission, is the only public beach access on the island; private beach accesses behind the gate serve property owners, their guests and renters. source
  • The Ocean Course hosted the 1991 Ryder Cup and the 2012 and 2021 PGA Championships, per the visitor bureau. source

Areas Visitors Use

  • West Beach / Beachwalker County Park The only public beach access on the island, at 8 Beachwalker Drive. source
  • Gated resort and residential island Most beach access is behind the gate for property owners, guests and renters; the town page does not list those locations. source
  • Freshfields Village About 50 shops, dining, events, a spa and a boutique hotel, about 30 minutes from Charleston International Airport per the visitor bureau. source
  • Dog Use Area Beach stretch between the eastern boundary of the Beach Club and the Ocean Course Clubhouse where dogs may be off leash year-round dawn to dusk. source

Getting There and Around

  • Driving from downtown takes about 48 minutes via SC 30 W, SC-700 W, State Rd S-10-20 and Kiawah Island Parkway. source
  • Charleston International Airport (CHS) is 34 miles away per the visitor bureau beaches page. source
  • The visitor bureau lists self-guided Naturally Kiawah pathway tours through the TravelStorys app. source

Visitor center: Kiawah Island Visitor Center. 4475 Betsy Kerrison Parkway; Monday – Friday, 8:00am – 4:00pm. Closed Saturday and Sunday.; (800) 774-0006 source

Parking in Kiawah Island

WhereRateWhenNotesSource
Kiawah Beachwalker Park (8 Beachwalker Drive)Standard vehicles pay seasonal rates, higher on weekends May through Labor Day; RVs and campers $40 daily; buses and large vehicles $75; walk-ins and bicyclists enter free; Gold Pass members park free (dollar amounts for standard vehicles not confirmed on a read page)see hours in the beaches rowHours: Jan-Feb 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Mar-Apr 10 a.m.-6 p.m.; May-Labor Day 9 a.m.-7 p.m.; Sep-Oct 10 a.m.-6 p.m.; Nov-Dec 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Year's Day. Phone 843-762-9964.source
Elsewhere on the islandn/an/aThe town beach page does not mention parking; no other public beach parking is stated.source

Beaches in Kiawah Island

BeachAccess and parkingDogsLifeguardsSource
Beachwalker County Park (Public)The only public beach access on the island (West Beach, 8 Beachwalker Drive, Charleston County Park & Recreation Commission, 843-762-9964). Other accesses are private behind the gate. Visitor bureau: about 10 miles of beach, one public access point; Seabrook Island next door is private to residents and guests only.Critical habitat areas at each end of the island: no dogs year-round. Dog Use Area (eastern boundary of the Beach Club to the Ocean Course Clubhouse): off leash under control year-round dawn to dusk, leashed dusk to dawn, electronic leashes prohibited. Rest of beach: March 1 to October 15 pets must be leashed at all times; October 16 to February 28 off leash dawn to dusk (one town page says 7 a.m.-7 p.m.), leashed dusk to dawn. Fines up to $500 plus assessments (another page says $465). Inside Beachwalker Park dogs must be leashed.Charleston County Parks and Recreation provides seasonal lifeguards at Beachwalker County Park in a designated swim area; dates and hours not confirmed. Strong rip currents are common; no wading or swimming in Captain Sam's Inlet.source
Town beach regulationsProhibited on the beach: glass, metal shovels, plastic carryout bags, plastic straws, Styrofoam, balloons, drones. Open fires and fireworks banned unless Town-permitted. No sleeping on the beach 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. Sea turtle lights off 9 p.m. to dawn May through October. Plastic shovels 14 inches or shorter allowed. Saltwater fishing license required. Beach Patrol 843-518-2880.See aboveSee abovesource

Comparing beaches? See which South Carolina beach to pick.

Dogs

  • Beach incidents go to Beach Patrol at 843-518-2880; off-beach issues to Code Enforcement at 843-768-9166. source

When to Go

  • Beachwalker Park hours change by season (longest May to Labor Day, 9 a.m.-7 p.m.); sea turtle lighting rules run May through October. source
  • Dog leash season: March 1 to October 15 leashed; October 16 to February 28 off leash allowed (outside critical habitat). source
  • Atlantic hurricane season runs June 1 to November 30 (NOAA summary). (not confirmed on the official page) source

Things to Do in Kiawah Island

8 picks from the town’s and operators’ own pages.

Beaches

  • Kiawah Beachwalker Park

    Free

    The only public beach access on Kiawah Island, with dressing area, drink vending, picnic area with grills, boardwalk with accessible ramp and restrooms year-round; chair and umbrella rentals, snack bar, lifeguards, outdoor showers and beach wheelchairs are seasonal. source

    Hours
    Jan-Feb 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Mar-Apr 10 a.m.-6 p.m.; May-Labor Day 9 a.m.-7 p.m.; Sep-Oct 10 a.m.-6 p.m.; Nov-Dec 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
    Cost
    Parking fees apply (see parking); walk-ins and bicyclists free
    Where
    8 Beachwalker Drive, Kiawah Island
    Dogs
    Dogs must be leashed in the park; Town of Kiawah rules govern the beach
  • Kiawah Dog Use Area

    Off-leash beach zone for dogs under control between the Beach Club and the Ocean Course Clubhouse. source

    Hours
    Off leash dawn to dusk year-round; leashed dusk to dawn
    Cost
    omit
    Where
    Between the eastern boundary of the Beach Club and the Ocean Course Clubhouse
    Dogs
    Off leash under control; electronic leashes prohibited; owners must stay with their pet and carry a leash

Tours

Attractions

  • Kiawah Island Visitor Center

    Indoors

    Visitor information for the island. source

    Hours
    Monday – Friday, 8:00am – 4:00pm
    Cost
    omit
    Where
    4475 Betsy Kerrison Parkway
  • Kayaking and Paddleboarding on The Salt Marsh

    Stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking through salt marsh, plus surfing lessons, per the visitor bureau. source

    Hours
    Not stated
    Cost
    omit
    Where
    Kiawah Island
  • The Ocean Course

    Walking-only golf course that hosted the 1991 Ryder Cup and 2012 and 2021 PGA Championships; other named courses are Osprey Point, Turtle Point and Cougar Point. source

    Hours
    Not stated
    Cost
    omit
    Where
    Kiawah Island

Markets

  • Freshfields Village

    Indoors

    About 50 shops, dining, events, a spa and a boutique hotel. source

    Hours
    Not stated
    Cost
    omit
    Where
    Kiawah Island Parkway area

Coming Up in and Near Kiawah Island

Nothing on our checked calendar here right now. See all South Carolina events.

Events within 15 miles, measured in a straight line to the centre of the event's town. Dates come from our checked events list; confirm with the organizer.

Near Kiawah Island

Around Kiawah Island within 25 miles
10 mi20 mi25 miNSEW12345678910
  1. 1Angel Oak Tree (Angel Oak Park)historic tree and city parkabout 7 mi
  2. 2West Ashley Greenwayrail trailabout 12 mi
  3. 3May Forest State ParkState Parkabout 13 mi
  4. 4Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Parkballparkabout 13 mi
  5. 5Gibbes Museum of Artart museumabout 13 mi
  6. 6Johnson Hagood Stadiumstadiumabout 14 mi
  7. 7Charles Towne Landing State Historic SiteState Historic Siteabout 14 mi
  8. 8The Charleston Museumhistory museumabout 14 mi
  9. 9Charleston Gaillard Centerperforming arts centerabout 14 mi
  10. 10International African American Museumhistory museumabout 14 mi

Straight-line distances between map points, not driving miles. Dots sit in their true compass direction; distance is stretched near the middle so close neighbors stay readable.

Nearby Towns With Their Own Guide

FAQ

Can the public use a Kiawah beach?

Yes, through Beachwalker County Park at 8 Beachwalker Drive, the only public beach access; other accesses are private behind the gate. source

When is Beachwalker Park open?

Jan-Feb 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Mar-Apr 10 a.m.-6 p.m.; May-Labor Day 9 a.m.-7 p.m.; Sep-Oct 10 a.m.-6 p.m.; Nov-Dec 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Year's Day. source

Can I bring my dog to the beach?

Dogs must be leashed March 1 to October 15 and may be off leash dawn to dusk October 16 to February 28; dogs are banned year-round in the critical habitat areas at each end; a year-round off-leash Dog Use Area is between the Beach Club and the Ocean Course Clubhouse. source

What does parking cost at Beachwalker?

RVs and campers pay $40 a day, buses and large vehicles $75, walk-ins and bicyclists are free and Gold Pass members park free; standard-vehicle rates are seasonal and higher on weekends from May through Labor Day (check the county site for current amounts). source

Are there lifeguards?

Charleston County Parks and Recreation provides seasonal lifeguards at Beachwalker County Park. source

How many people live in Kiawah Island?

About 2,003, the U.S. Census Bureau’s estimate for July 1, 2024 (Census table).

What We Could Not Confirm

Not confirmed: we looked for these on official pages and did not find them. Check with the town or operator before you rely on them.

  • Beachwalker standard-vehicle parking dollar amounts: ccprc.com pages blocked automated reads; An unofficial summary gave conflicting weekend rates ($20 vs $25 May-Labor Day), so none are stated (not confirmed on the official page).
  • Beachwalker lifeguard season dates and hours: not confirmed on a read page.
  • Town incorporation year: not found.
  • Dog Use Area hours conflict between Town pages (dawn to dusk on the leash law page, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on the beaches page); both are noted above.
  • Whether non-resident visitors may enter the gated resort or private beach accesses: not stated on pages read; only Beachwalker is described as public.
  • Distance from Charleston: pages say 25 miles (area page), 27 miles (beaches page) and 20 miles (a lodging listing).

Sources

  1. U.S. Census Bureau, city and town population estimates, Vintage 2024
  2. Town of Kiawah Island beaches and public access
  3. Town of Kiawah Island dog leash regulations
  4. Town of Kiawah Island beach regulations
  5. Explore Charleston Kiawah Island
  6. Explore Charleston beach rules
  7. Explore Charleston beaches
  8. Explore Charleston visitor centers
  9. Charleston County Parks Beachwalker Park Rules

Read on October 26, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.

Cite this page: It's South Carolina, “Kiawah Island, SC Travel Guide”, itssouthcarolina.com/destinations/lowcountry/kiawah-island/ (updated ). By the It's South Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.